Flowering Friday

23 Apr

It’s a rainy Friday after a torturous week at work.  That means I’m not doing much on the farm, and it’s a good day to appreciate the beauty around me.

The crabapple tree is just opening.

The flowering almond if finally fully opened.  It was a hard winter for the poor thing.  It has this huge mass of flowers and then mostly naked to the ground.  I have both pink

and white.  This one  is definitely my favorite.  It was here when I moved in, and I’ve never been able to find another.  Supposedly the white variety is not as hardy or popular as the pink.

The bleeding heart plants are just huge.  The ones my mother had when I was growing up were never this big.  I would have left more room around them if I had known they were going to take over.

The plum tree I brought from my mother’s home is in full bloom.  The scent is just heavenly.  This fall, it will be full of the most delicious plums.  They make the best jam.

The magnolia tree has more blossoms on it this year than it has had in many years.  Of course, after today’s wind and rain, most of the petals are on the ground.  The ones on the barnyard side make a tasty treat.

Enjoy the weekend.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

