Progress

14 Apr

We’ve been working hard the last couple of days to get the field ready.  Jeremy brought out the backhoe and truck to load up chunks of concrete.

It wasn’t easy to do because the concrete wouldn’t break up into very small chunks.  It was a lot of work, but he managed to get it into the truck.  We got the rest of the grain bin picked up.  The backhoe has a lot more power to pull the bigger posts out.

I think all the big stuff is out. Today, my dad began disking.  We had planned on mostly using it to go through the old fencerows and the cattle trails.  Here is the equipment, waiting for the parts to fix it after hitting a big rock.

Dad got a bit carried away, and about half the field has been disked so far.  Who knows how much more will get done when it is fixed.

We had the four-wheeler out checking for rocks and picking up lots of wood.  With all this going on, it was starting to look like a big equipment parking lot.  It’s a good thing I have family with the equipment to do this work; otherwise, I would never be able to do this.  I owe them so much.

To finish the day, Jeremy had the dirt scraper to fill in the ditch where the fence had collapsed.  This had to be taken care of now because we have to make a lane from the barn to the back pasture.

After disking and getting parts, Dad came back and ran the backhoe.  This was a new experience for him, which just proves that you can teach an old dog new tricks!

I am amazed at the changes I see daily.  It’s just unbelievable the changes that take place so quickly.  MJ seems to think it’s strange to disk up all that good grass.  I recommended he eat really fast where it hasn’t been disked yet.

2 Responses to “Progress”

  1. Sherrym (city chic on a farm) May 12, 2011 at 9:06 am #

    What a cute blog! Love all the pictures!! I found you by Google Images. I was looking for a tractor disking and found the one in this post. Do you mind if I barrow it until hubby can get in the fields around here so I can get a picture? Thanks!

    • Teresa May 12, 2011 at 10:25 am #

      Please link back to me, and that is fine. 🙂

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

