Fences Part II

12 Apr

It seems like I’ve focused so much on getting the fence out of the middle of the corn field that I neglected to make sure all the fences I did need were in working condition.  It seemed like no big deal because there have been cattle in the pasture for longer than I can remember.  They did, however, have an electric wire around the perimeter, and they had no need to keep their cows from entering the front part of the property.

With this in mind and a plan to check on how goat proof the fences might be, Bob and I took off to walk the fences.  Okay, I was walking the fences and Bob was just following and whining at me.  I already knew that a ditch was forming that had started eating the fence.  This is where they will enter the pasture, and I’ll have to make my lane curve over until we can get this stabilized.

I set off and the first thing I noticed was a llama that looked pretty darn happy for someone that almost had to be drug into the pasture.  He was so absorbed in enjoying the grass and sun that he didn’t even notice me until I was really close.  That doesn’t speak well for his guard llama skills.

Bob thought he would join me for my trek around the pasture.  He thought he was up to the task.  Besides, it was a beautiful sunny afternoon, and he’s always the adventurous type.

The fallen tree seemed like the perfect place to cross the ditch.  You can see how the water rushed through the ditch after our rain last week.   I don’t think the cows or llama have crossed to the other side of the ditch yet.  They have so much more pasture than they’ve ever had.  Adventurous Bob followed me across on the tree.

I’m not sure what his plan was for getting back across the ditch because this is the only place there is a tree to walk on.  He continued following me, and I took pity and carried him through the swampy part and when I hopped back to the other side of the ditch.  Finally, we reached the west edge of the property and found the first place of concern.  The fence is leaning dangerously.  I’m sure it wasn’t an issue with the electric wire around the perimeter.   I’ll try to get it picked up and wired to some posts.  I do want to run an electric wire around here eventually, but it might be a while.

The second place of concern is where the ditch enters my property.  There used to be a dirt bridge to drive across.  It has been washed out along with fencing and tiles.  It won’t be a problem with the cows, but I’m not sure about the goats.  I’d like to find a way to put a hinged fence here so it can open up when rain water rushes through and drops back down when it isn’t.

Just east of the ditch is where the internal fence begins.  I need to put a gate in.  The space is there, but since the cattle were allowed on all sixty-eight acres, there was no need to have a gate.  Just south of the gate hole, I found another problem.  Again, it won’t be an issue for the cows, but it wouldn’t hold the goats.  At least it won’t take much to fix this one.

This one might be a bit more difficult.  I think any time the ox and several of his friends can walk through a hole in the fence at the same time, it probably isn’t going to hold the goats.  I definitely will have to take care of this before we get the crops in.  In case you can’t tell, the corner post is standing, but the long-dead tree smashed the wire on both sides.

By this time, Bob was starting to wonder why on earth he wanted to come.  Believe it or not, I wore the poor cat out.  I had to carry him for the last part of our walk.

I’ve decided that the entire internal fence is worthless for goats.  Once I get the electric wire up, I might try to put a couple of extra strands up and try to keep them confined that way.  I would love for them to be able to be in the pasture and eat all the gooseberry bushes, rosebushes and other scrubby stuff the cows will turn their noses up at.

They look awfully little in this big pasture.  I am so happy that they can finally have all the room they deserve.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

