Wind

1 Apr

Today is one of those days that anything not tied down is going to blow away.  It is windy.  I have my hair captured in a ponytail, and it still is not under control.  The air is filled with dust from the gravel road.

These geese are not sebastapols.  They are not moulting.  It’s just windy.  This is typical in Iowa.  According to the American Wind Energy Association, Iowa is second, behind Texas, in wind energy production.  This is in spite of ranking 10th in potential production.

What I do not know about wind energy could more than fill a book.  I would sound totally stupid if I tried talking about wind energy.  It seems almost like magic to take wind and turn it into electricity.  If you can’t tell, I am not at all mechanical.   The little that I do know, fascinates me. As I look at building an on-farm market, I want to include a wind turbine to provide electricity.  I’m not talking about a huge wind farm like the ones springing up in northern Iowa.  I want something small that will power the farm and possibly put some electricity back on the grid.  It seems rather ironic that the most up-to-date technologies go back to the way things used to be.

Iowa farmers have used wind energy for a long time, there is an old windmill on my farm.  It’s not in working condition now, but it definitely adds character.  At one time, it was the only source of water for the farm.  Later, electricity came to the farm, and the windmill was replaced by a well.  Now, there is rural water.

The windmill on my farm.  I must say, aesthetically, I prefer the old-fashioned windmill to the modern wind turbine.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

