Bottle Babies

23 Mar

It’s been a bit of a challenge trying to get Cutie’s babies to take the bottle.  For some reason, they want to stick with Mom even though she doesn’t give them enough to fill their tummies.  We are just providing a bottle.  She is still raising them otherwise.  She is a good mom, and it would be devastating to have her babies taken away at their young age leaving her with none.  I will keep working at it, and they are starting to get the hang of it.  I’ve had problems before with some kids not wanting to take a bottle after the real thing, even though they are getting real goat milk.

That is why I always take one of Mabel’s triplets at birth (five sets of triplets in five years).  She could feed them all for a while, but eventually, I’d have to take one.  She gives everything she has to the two she gets to raise, and taking one at birth is less stressful and traumatic for all three of us.  Most goats are doting mothers, and I even let my milking nannies raise their babies before I milk.  Of course, I don’t have to rely on milking as an income.  This family bond seems to last into adulthood and through generations.  Because Lily and her daughter Dolly are shut in a small area with their babies right now, that leaves Lily’s baby from last year without Mom.  When I go out to check them at night, she is now curled up with grandma Mabel.  They really do seem to have a good sense of family.

Giving Vixen a bottle.

Both girls do a good job for a minute, then they get a squirmy and want to leave.  Next thing you know, they are back to trying to nurse their mother.

Angel and me

My sister, Tammy, was nice enough to take pictures to share.  Angel really is a sweet kid.  Hopefully she’s extra sweet to my mom who is helping out.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

