Spring

20 Mar

The first day of spring, March 20th, Vernal Equinox, Ostara.  Whatever you call it, the days are now longer.  Each night I gain just a little bit more time  before I have to turn the lights on.  It’s time to get off the couch and come out of winter’s hibernation.  Everywhere I look there is evidence of the coming season.  Although we had a fresh blanket of snow when I got up this morning, it’s nearly gone again.  The ground temperatures are too warm for it to last very long.

It seems like every time I step outside, I hear the Canada geese honking as they fly north.  My own geese are laying eggs.  The gander runs at me hissing every time I come close because he will defend his mate for life, with his own life if necessary.  The goat kids are arriving and bouncing around.  Their play alone is enough to make a person feel rejuvenated.  The girls that won’t have babies until later, are starting to look round.

I keep a watchful eye for my own personal first sighting of a robin.  I know it won’t be long now.  I’ve already seen the daffodils and sedum making their way through the ground.  The squirrels have quit feasting on the dog food, even though it’s still fun to sneak a bite just to tease the dogs and cats.

Although it’s too early to uncover the flower beds and plant the garden, I’m tending seedlings that will provide lots of tomatoes in the summer.  My first luffa gourds have sprouted, and the peppers should soon follow.  I’ve drawn out diagrams of how I want the garden to look this year, as well as the orchard I’m planning.  If I find myself anxious to get into the soil, I can always plant marigold seeds.

Luffa gourd

With all nature’s new beginnings around me, it gives me confidence as I begin this adventure in farming.  I know it can’t be anything but successful.  When I look at the beauty around me, I realize I truly am blessed to be a guardian of this place.

Sunset, the first day of spring
I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

