St. Patrick’s Day

17 Mar

I didn’t get as much work done today, but I did walk through the pasture of Eden Hills. It’s obvious how I came up with the hill part of the name–Eden Highly Eroding Drainage Ditches doesn’t have quite the same quaint romantic feel to it.

One of the many ditches through the pasture

It’s still so amazing that I can say I was out walking the back forty, and I really was. The grass was almost turning green as I watched. There were places that clover was really poking through the ground. I can only imagine what the 60 degree temperatures tomorrow will do for the grass.
My first priority for the farm is getting the crops in. The creditors like the idea of having crops. After the crops, I need to get a fence put across the back hills so I can keep the cows and llama off them because that is where we are planning on having the hay field. I also need to get some fruit trees and bushes on the front back hill. Does that make sense to anyone besides me? Maybe I should just say the southeast hill.
Once these things are taken care of, I want to work on the pasture. First is stopping the erosion. I’m not sure the best way to do this, but I’m guessing it will be a combination of tiling, waterways, and trees.

Dead Tree Hill

Once it is more stable, I’d like to get rid of all the dead trees. It looks like a war took place on the hill and leveled every living thing. Once that’s done, I plan on putting out some new trees. I’m thinking oak like I have in my current pasture would be good. We need a couple of fast-growing maples to provide shade sooner. Finally, I want shagbark hickory trees. They are native to the area, and the nuts are wonderful for baking with (or selling in the on-farm market).
The last thing will be adding the on-farm market. I have to fill in the old well and get rid of all the junk and then put up a nice building. Of course, there will be a lot of licenses and permits. I’ve already been researching what needs to be done.
Caleb and I did a bit of work and let the cows and llama out in the new pasture. The cows were easy. I took a bit of hay out and Maxine was right there. MJ did look a little suspicious. After all I’ve spent the last eleven years telling him he wasn’t allowed to go over there, but he likes food, so he joined her. The llama is a different story. Just two days ago, we bribed him with hay and he got tied to the fence, and we gave him shots. He was not about to fall for that again, so he just stood there with his ears back wishing he could spit that far. I did warn them that they don’t get to keep all sixty-eight acres.
I have evidence that spring is here. The geese have begun to lay eggs. So far, I’ve gathered a dozen eggs from three different nests. It’s always a contest to see who will win, a broody goose or a farm girl who thinks twenty geese are enough. For some reason, the geese usually win.

I couldn’t resist taking a picture of Marley. He was just so happy to lay there enjoying the sun. He would stretch and turn and stretch some more. What a funny guy!

Marley enjoying the sunshine!
I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

