Meet Mason

15 Mar

What is it with these goat girls? They start obviously showing signs of labor just about my bedtime. Then I have to get up and check on them every couple of hours. This time, it was eight the next morning when Mason finally made his appearance. I wonder who will decide to kid tonight.
Last fall, my big billy goat Goliath decided to make some executive decisions without consulting me. He chose to let himself and the other billy goat, Jack, in with all the girls the day before I was going to sort them and put them with the girls they could breed for spring break. As a result, I had no idea who was dad for three of the girls’ babies. After the first two having their kids, it has been pretty easy to decide who the sire is. Goliath is the father of the twin girls, and Jack is Mason’s dad.
The vets came this morning to give rabies shots, tetanus shots, distemper shots, and worm shots.  My son was kind enough to help me get the bovine and llama up from pasture. The llama was not happy when we tied him to the fence. He is definitely not a Djali llama. The ox is pretty easy. He gets a rabies shot. That’s it. At three thousand pounds, however, it is not easy to get him to do something he doesn’t want to do. Luckily, he likes corn, so he’s pretty easy to bribe. Of all the animals getting shots today, he was the biggest baby. He let out a bellow and jumped back to let us know he was not happy. Then he went back to eating corn because he does like his food. All in all, it went fairly well.
I made it to the FSA office today and registered the farm. It always throws people because it has never been registered before. We did the paperwork for sod-busting since it has been cattle pasture for as long as I remember. After registering, we walked across the hall and talked to the NRCS. I was impressed that the conservationist said, “Now I feel better,” just because he saw my nephew with me. He knows that Jeremy and his dad are no-till farmers. That is the plan for my crop land also. I reassured him that not only is Jeremy a no-till farmer, but I am a tree hugger. Instead of leveling and closing in the drainage ditch and turning it into more crop land, I want to figure out how to stop or slow the erosion and keep it draining the land. I’m thinking some willow trees, tiling, and waterway work. Hopefully, it will help stop a lot of the erosion.
While I was registering the farm with Jeremy, my dad, my son, and my nephew Brandon were still working. They managed to get the grain bin more apart. It’s still not done, but definitely getting closer. They finished cutting one of the trees and cleared a lot of junk. I am amazed at how much has been done in these first two days of actually working.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

