Complaints and Bridges

13 Mar

I am not usually one to complain. Don’t ask my mother about that. You can just take my word for it. If I were a complainer, today would be the day for it. I got sick last weekend and it has steadily progressed into a horrible cold. I’m coughing; I’m tired; my nose is as full and fast running as our swollen rivers; I’m tired. Did I mention I’m tired. On top of that, my knee is still bruised and my shoulder is still sore from my fall last weekend. It’s just not fair to start spring break feeling like this.
That said, I’m on spring break!!!! Babies getting here safely is the big plan. No Jamaican holiday or Florida partying. I’m all about the babies this week.
My big concern here right now is the mud. Between the melting snow and rain, the ditch from the backhoe is pretty dangerous. Don’t get me wrong, the geese think it’s great. They have fresh mud to filter for bugs and roots. The five-foot deep puddle of water doesn’t slow them down. They swim across and just use their webbed feet to walk across the top of the pit that could be used for mud wrestling. Cats and humans and goats on the other hand can’t navigate quite as well.
When I got home yesterday, the first thing I did was check on my very pregnant goats. I immediately noticed that Penny was completely mud covered all down her front legs, stomach, back legs and up to her tail. A phone call to my mom confirmed that she had been stuck. When Mom came out to check the girls at noon, she wondered why Penny was down there laying in the mud and decided she was stuck. My nephew was kind enough to come and pull her out. He decided it’s easier to unstick a goat in the mud than a cow. Horns make good handles. While giving everyone their grain, I thought Mable was going to plunge right into the mud pit trying to get across to me and the pitcher.
I decided I better do something before the mud swallowed someone or the water hole drowned them. I found out first hand how easy it is to get stuck when I was trying to figure out where the best place for a bridge would be. I took one step into the obviously soft part and sank to the top of my rubber boot. I pulled and got my foot out, but not the boot. I figured I might as well give up and just put my stockinged foot on semi-solid ground and pulled the boot out. It wasn’t easy pulling it out by hand as the mud was already pushing it in. By that time, my other foot had sunk and I couldn’t get it freed from the mud without stepping out of it. I made a quick trip back to the house to get rid of the mud encrusted socks and dry my feet off before I went back to building bridges.
I found a bunch of old boards from the fence we took down and made a couple of places for the animals to cross from one side of the barnyard to the other. Then I got some plywood to cover the top of the hole where the cattle tank will go. This morning, they were testing it out. Much safer now.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

