Corn Field

6 Mar

After Dad and I got the panels cut on Sunday, that meant I had to work hard and fast to get my cattle lane finished.  Up until now, the corn field and cattle field were one pasture.  The lane starts at my barn, which sits on the property line.

It goes south all the way to where Jeremy filled in the ditch that was running down the hill.

Because the land is not real stable and I was using old recycled panels, when it goes from the lane to the fence, it meanders.  I do believe that it  makes the fence cattle and llama proof.

I’ll have to work on goat and goose proof later.  Look, it works!  Magic wandered down the lane to join me.

Almost as soon as it was finished, Brandon got to run the harrow across the field to help smooth it out some.

Today, Norm planted.  He was elected to the job because he has experience with contour farming.  This should help lessen the effects of erosion.

Finally, the crops are planted!  That makes me officially a farmer, even if I am hiring them to custom farm it.

It was just in the nick of time, as it is supposed to rain within a couple of hours.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

