An Auspicious Sign

26 Feb

I stayed home sick from work this morning. Nothing that made me wish I’d just die, but I wish the Tylenol would kick in and I could stay in bed asleep all day. As luck would have it, my phone rang at 9:30. It was Farm Credit Services confirming the time on the farm closing this Monday–in four days! I decided to stay up and make more calls pertaining to the farm–insurance, electicity, water. I think everything is right on track now. It’s a good thing I was home because I would never have gotten all of this taken care of.
Early in the afternoon, I was standing in the kitchen looking out the window at the goats and geese when a bright red splash caught my eye. It was a male cardinal sitting in the magnolia tree. He stayed there long enough for me to get my camera and take a picture through the window. I decided that it was sunny with no wind and it wouldn’t hurt for me to step out onto the deck to get a little closer. As I stood at the edge of the deck focusing the lens, I heard a shriek. When I turned to look, I saw a pair of eagles sitting in the top of the tree right on the border between my acreage and my farm. What a privilege to watch such beautiful birds! One took off and soared around and came back to land beside his/her mate again. It was about fifteen minutes before they finally took off together and flew west over my new farm. I take this as an auspicious sign for my new venture.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

