The Vision!

15 Feb

I have big plans for my seventy-five acres. I am thrilled to have an area of pasture for my animals, and I’m even more excited to be able to make hay. Hopefully, I’ll have enough for my own needs and some to sell. Of course, the creditors like that I will have about thrity acres of crop land. This is the pretty standard stuff.
In addition to the usual farm stuff, I am looking into the future, and I see agritourism. I want to start an on-farm market where I can sell the fruits, vegetables and herbs that I grow. I’d like to sell the jams, jellies, salsas, and other canned goods. I am working on making wines and vinegars that I can sell. I also make candles, soaps, bath salts, and other products. I love baking breads and rolls.
In addition to the market, I want to create a space where people can make a connection with nature. I’d like to have an area where people get to interact with the animals and walk through gardens. Who knows, if I get really ambitious and everything falls into place, I might create a labyrinth. Because I love fall, I want to have a pick-your-own pumpkin patch.
I have many ideas of what would be wonderful to incorporate into this venture. For now, I am planting grapes, raspberries, blackberries, and apple trees. I am honing my skills in the kitchen. The newest venture is making wine. I must say it has been quite the learning experience. With each successful batch of wine, I learn more and get to enjoy the fruits of my labor. With my first batch of that was not a success, I’ve learned even more–how to make vinegar! I’m probably the only person who could be excited that my wine turned to vinegar.
Along with my practicing and learning, I have been doing so much research. I am looking into the rules and regulations of how to make this happen. I am so excited as to begin this journey! Fifteen days until closing.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

