Not Just the Animals

9 Feb

When I moved here, there was plenty of landscaping. It was about twenty-years-old, weedy, and have dug up when the previous owners moved. At the time, I was a single mom working full time, working part time, and going to school. My theory was, “If I can’t eat it, I don’t want to weed it.” As a result, the landscaping became horribly overgrown and out of control.
Over the last four or five years, however, I’ve had a change of heart. I’ve been working to reclaim the flower beds and redo the landscaping, this time adding my own personality. I’ve added an herb/strawberry garden. I’m trying to establish even more bird and butterfly attracting plants. From tulips early in the spring until the last of the mums in the fall, we have beautiful colors.
I still weed those plants I can eat. My garden is fairly large. I love canning tomatoes in about every way imaginable. I can jams and jellies and veggies and soups and salsa and sauces. I freeze fruits and veggies. This is truly one of the best things about being surrounded by nature. I get to enjoy the wonderful produce year round. I also enjoy sharing the things that grow here. Last year I probably gave away five gallons of strawberries. I planted a row of beets just for my dad. Every year, I make the pies for Thanksgiving and Christmas with the pumpkins grown here in my garden.
I have giant oak trees that surround my home and fill the pasture, providing shade for the house and animals. With the addition of sixty-eight acres, I look forward to planting additional fruit trees, grapes, and raspberries. For the first time, I will be a true farmer–we will put in about thirty acres of crops. As I watch the snow falling, yet again, this winter, the thought of all the summer greens keep me going.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

