Changes

6 Feb

When we moved here with MJ, we also brought Calfey, my sister and brother-in-law’s retired pet cow. She was allowed to live out her remaining years as a companion to MJ and being spoiled. The summer she was eighteen-years-old, it became apparent that she would not make it through the winter. I wondered what to do for MJ because cattle are very family oriented and he would be horribly lonesome without his woman. I decided to go to the sale barn and see if I could find a new companion for him.
While I went to the sale barn looking for a new companion, MJ and Calfey had a blast. They got into a habit of jumping the dying gate between my yard and barnyard. They snacked on sweet corn, trompled through the tomatoes, and obliterated onions. Eventually, someone dragged a toe and the gate became a pile of kindling.
I didn’t find a perfect heifer at the sale barn, but one Saturday morning my son and I saw this tiny floppy-eard red goat with the biggest mouth come into the sale pen. We looked at each other, and it was pretty much a given that he was going home with us. I had never actually bid at the sale barn before, and I was engaged in a heated bidding war against myself. Luckily, the auctioneer was honest and we bought him for about twelve dollars. We bought milk replacer (much more expensive than the kid), did our research on the Internet, and started on that long slippery slope to being a goat farmer.
The next weekend I went back to the sale barn and had a wonderful buy–a llama. He was white and fuzzy and could have had bird nests in his wool as dirty as he was. I brought him home and my family would not allow me to go back to the sale barn.
Meanwhile, MJ and Calfey moved on to bigger and better antics. They broke out he front gate to play rodeo in the neighbor’s bean field. That was not enough, and Calfey decided to assault the cherry bush on her way back through the driveway. The poor thing has never been the same. They had one Hoorah of a last summer together!
Calfey did die late that summer, and we buried her in the pasture. MJ moped and just was not himself. He couldn’t even manage to thow dirt on his back and bellow back when the neighbor bull would challenge him. I decided to call a gentleman one county over and see if he might have a cow. Amazingly, when I told him I was looking for a companion cow, he had just the heifer. Maxine had been a bottle calf and been in the county fair and was a pet. She had never readjusted to being back in a large herd of cattle. MJ had to our county fair. Both were bottle babies that loved people. They had so much in common! We brought Maxine home, and MJ was so excited. They truly are wonderful together.
I now had a production cow, a llama, and a wether.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

