The End of Summer

I like all four seasons.  Really, I do.  Even though I might complain about the frigid temperatures or the excessive heat sometimes, I enjoy living in a place that give me four distinct seasons.  There is one season though that I do not like.  It’s “The End of Summer.”

Blue Griffon

Blue Griffon

Snickers

Snickers

The end of summer is the time when our state fair starts (last Thursday) and lasts until the official start of fall.  It’s the time when the boys come into rut and the girls come into heat. All the hormones lead to lots of skirmishes and amorous advances.  It’s a pain.  It’s also the time I have to worry more about worms in the goats.  I’m usually swamped with garden stuff, and I have to go back to work.  Today was my first day back at work.  That’s never a happy thing.

20 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. S. J. Qualls
    Aug 14, 2014 @ 21:23:59

    Nice pictures.
    Sigh, I understand, I would hate to see it too.

    Reply

  2. TheChieftess
    Aug 15, 2014 @ 00:09:14

    There are advantages to not living on a farm…
    Love the pic of Snickers!!!

    Reply

  3. TexWisGirl
    Aug 15, 2014 @ 08:03:48

    it all hits at once… good luck!

    Reply

  4. EG CameraGirl
    Aug 15, 2014 @ 09:49:05

    I like all four seasons too, Teresa. But I can see that this time of year would be particularly hard for you. I’m amazed at how much you do in so little time.

    Reply

  5. makeupladyks@aol.com
    Aug 15, 2014 @ 10:44:31

    I really don’t know how you do all you do–even with help sometimes– yes,kids going back to school so early too– we do’t start here until after Labor Day week-end.

    Reply

  6. Gattina
    Aug 15, 2014 @ 11:09:44

    If the summer ends already, I will wear black for its funerals !

    Reply

  7. Jeanne
    Aug 15, 2014 @ 12:56:05

    It seems that the school year continues to get longer – starts earlier and goes later! We used to start after Labor Day, and were out by the third week in May! It’s so different now. I hope you’ll manage to get everything done…you probably will.

    Reply

  8. Mary Ann
    Aug 15, 2014 @ 17:12:19

    My condolences :-)

    Reply

  9. Pat
    Aug 15, 2014 @ 18:50:54

    Summer is going by so fast. Hope you enjoy your job more this year.

    Reply

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

Blog Stats

  • 460,849 hits

For the Love of Blogging, Turn it Off

Copyright Notice

Entire Contents © Copyright 2010 - 2014 Eden Hills. Text and photographs may not be published, broadcast, redistributed, re-blogged or aggregated without express permission. Thank you.
Get your own free Blogoversary button!

Disclaimer

The information on this web site is supplied for general reference and educational purposes only. This information does not represent the management practices or thinking of other goat breeders or the veterinary community. I am not a veterinarian, and the information on this site is not intended to replace professional veterinary advice. This information is not intended to diagnose or treat any health problems or illnesses without consulting your veterinarian. I disclaim all liability in connection with the use of this information.
