Getting Ready to Breed

It’s looking like we might have more kids than ever before in 2013.  I think we’ll actually be right around fifty kids this year, and we had fifty-one last year.

Maisie

Maisie

In the next couple of days I’ll move the goats around into four groups.  I’ll have the main barnyard where my retired girls and those already bred will go.  There is a variety of ages and personalities here, so it’s good they have three separate areas to be inside.

barnyard collage

There will be about twenty goats in this section.

Boeris already bred six girls for spring break babies.  Bambi, Coffee, Sugar, Pebbles, Pam and Litha are all due the last week of March.

Bambi

Bambi

I have eight girls to put with Boeris, but that shelter is fairly small. I might have to do them in cycles as they come into heat.  That means there might be a couple more in the main section.

Sallie

Sallie

I was smart enough to dig out the gate before it was totally frozen and impossible to open.  We’re ready to give Boeris his girls.  He’s certainly ready for company.

Boeris van de Yell

Boeris van de Yell

I still haven’t seen Maggie or Penny come into heat, so I just don’t know what to do with them.  They would both go in the crowded section with Boeris which makes it harder to know what to do with them.

Maggie

Maggie

There’s also a couple of girls I haven’t decided whether or not I’ll breed them, and they would also have to be rotated in to visit Boeris.

Stormy

Stormy

On the back side of the barnyard, I’ll leave the llama and put Fionn and his ladies.

Djali

Djali

They also have a nice outdoors section.

Coffee, Vixen and Coral

Coffee, Vixen and Coral

He already bred Blaze for spring break babies, but I’ll let her stay over there with her twin sister Bonnie and thirteen other girls.

Blaze and Bonnie

Blaze and Bonnie

I’ve already covered the spaces on either side of the cattle tank so they can’t come through there.  I love that they can drink from either side, but being in the wide open is part of why it’s so hard to keep the tank from freezing.

cattle tank

I’ve also boarded up the bottom part of the dutch door where some ox might have poked his nosey head through many years ago.

barn

The last thing to do is separate the girls to their respective sides and put a panel across this doorway.

Lily and Cutie

I think Bud might be the big loser of this deal.  He’s going to go stay with Marley up north.  He’s never been separated from his sister, Flower, before.

Flower and Bud

Flower and Bud

Bud and Marley will stay up north where Marley and Fionn are now.  It’s a pretty small shelter, but two wethers should get along just fine.

Fionn, Marley, and Meg

Fionn, Marley, and Meg

I’m just pretty sure I don’t want a giant wether like Marley with my old and young girls.  He would still be interested in them romantically, and they don’t need a 200 pound wether jumping them.

Linking toWeekly Top ShotSOOC Sunday and Barn Charm.

40 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. TexWisGirl
    Dec 29, 2012 @ 18:09:10

    good lord, you’ve got a lot of shuffling to do!

    Reply

  2. Pondside
    Dec 29, 2012 @ 18:49:00

    Even with the names, instead of numbers, this looks to me like some very complicated math puzzle! Good luck!

    Reply

    • Teresa
      Dec 29, 2012 @ 18:52:05

      It’s not as bad as you might think. Last names help, and I know them all like my family. I can tell you their genealogies as far back as they go on my farm. :-)

      Reply

  3. artmusedog
    Dec 29, 2012 @ 19:24:31

    Fantastic photography ~ love how some of your animals seem to pose for you ~ Great post ~ always enjoy coming here ~ Happy New Year to you ^_^

    Reply

  4. genie
    Dec 29, 2012 @ 20:48:25

    Your goats have to be the happiest and best treated one anywhere. I just love how you bring them all to life for us. I have fallen in love with Blaze and Bonnie. That photo is precious. I do not know how you do all the work raising your goats entails. You definitely have your hands full. Here’s wishing you human family and your extended goat family the happiest of new years. genie

    Reply

    • Teresa
      Dec 29, 2012 @ 20:54:41

      Thanks so much. I don’t know about the best, but I do try to make sure they are happy and healthy. Bonnie and Blaze are both certainly beauty queens. Hope you have a fabulous new year!

      Reply

  5. Mimi Foxmorton
    Dec 29, 2012 @ 21:05:17

    Oooo! I can’t wait!
    Little snuzzle faces………..! :)

    Reply

  6. Joani
    Dec 29, 2012 @ 22:28:48

    That looks like a lot of work and moving everything and especially since it is so cold and so much snow. I hope you have a little bit of help. Can’t wait see all the little ones. Happy New Year!

    Reply

    • Teresa
      Dec 30, 2012 @ 07:58:43

      The snow can make it more of a challenge, but I think I’ve got it under control. Cutie with her aching hips is the only one I’m worried about moving without it hurting her.

      Reply

  7. Stewart M
    Dec 29, 2012 @ 23:54:28

    Fun and games for all no doubt!

    Your animals get to see more snow than my kids! ;)

    Reply

  8. Gemma Wiseman
    Dec 30, 2012 @ 01:09:41

    Love how you treat your goats as intimate family! So very lovely! And enjoyed all the snowy scenes round the goats!

    Reply

  9. southwestarkie
    Dec 30, 2012 @ 03:13:55

    Wow, that’s a large bunch to keep up with! I hope you have a successful mating season. Happy New Year!

    Reply

  10. Anne (Cornucopia)
    Dec 30, 2012 @ 03:37:49

    Wonderful pictures!

    Reply

  11. Pinkoddy
    Dec 30, 2012 @ 05:01:38

    That is a lot of kids – but they are gorgeous

    Reply

  12. Nancy
    Dec 30, 2012 @ 05:57:05

    Sounds like you’ve got a good plan in place, which makes the job alot easier. :)

    Reply

  13. Nancy @ Joyful Altitude
    Dec 30, 2012 @ 07:59:25

    Like putting a jigzaw puzzle together. I admire what you do. Must be satisfying.

    Reply

  14. Lorri
    Dec 30, 2012 @ 10:57:59

    What beautiful captures of the creatures. I love their expressions…sweetness multiplied.

    Reply

  15. Pat
    Dec 30, 2012 @ 15:15:03

    Such beauties! Here’s to a successful 2013 breeding season!

    Reply

  16. Candy Conrad
    Dec 30, 2012 @ 15:36:46

    It’s good to have a plan and yours sounds like a good plan! I didn’t breed my goats this year so I’ll just have to enjoy your kids long distance! :)

    Reply

    • Teresa
      Dec 30, 2012 @ 16:00:40

      I was wondering if you brought the buck back after they didn’t settle. That’s the only good thing about having your own buck. They are a concern the other 350 days out of the year though. ;-)

      Reply

  17. Madge @ The View From Right Here
    Dec 30, 2012 @ 15:51:41

    Musical pens and the company of a ram, what more could they want?? Thank you for sharing on Weekly Top Shot #63!

    Reply

  18. MG Atwood
    Dec 30, 2012 @ 15:54:28

    I love goats! So cute!! Thanks for stopping by my blog.

    Reply

  19. Jen
    Dec 30, 2012 @ 20:52:37

    So much to do and keep up with… All your goats are so beautiful, I just love lookin at time. So many babies are gonna be born in 2013!

    Reply

  20. Meg
    Jan 03, 2013 @ 20:46:39

    Wow! Sounds like you are super busy.

    Reply

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

Blog Stats

  • 461,435 hits

For the Love of Blogging, Turn it Off

Copyright Notice

Entire Contents © Copyright 2010 - 2014 Eden Hills. Text and photographs may not be published, broadcast, redistributed, re-blogged or aggregated without express permission. Thank you.
Get your own free Blogoversary button!

Disclaimer

The information on this web site is supplied for general reference and educational purposes only. This information does not represent the management practices or thinking of other goat breeders or the veterinary community. I am not a veterinarian, and the information on this site is not intended to replace professional veterinary advice. This information is not intended to diagnose or treat any health problems or illnesses without consulting your veterinarian. I disclaim all liability in connection with the use of this information.
