I Left the Farm

I shared that I was actually taking a short vacation for the first time in something like ten years.  It was really a great break for me.  I left the beautiful rolling hills of Iowa and headed east.

The miles across Illinois flew past.

My first stop was in Indiana.  I have no idea who threw their shoe out the car window.  It wasn’t me.

I got to visit the beautiful campus of Ball State University at Muncie, Indiana.

My nephew Chris was kind enough to give me the walking tour of campus.  Too bad it was 102* F for the tour.

Still it was a beautiful campus, and I enjoyed seeing Chris.  The next morning, I continued east enjoying the changing scenery.

Finally I arrived in New York.

It was always beautiful outside my car window.

After 1050 miles, I finally reached my destination in the amazing Finger Lakes region of western New York.  I was attending Beaverfest!  Don’t ask because I don’t think I can explain how my trip was given this name, but it was fun.

Beavie the Beaver

I got to meet the very beautiful Isobelle Golightly and her lady.

I also got to meet The Goat Borrower, Mimi Foxmorton.

Isobelle and all of her friends seemed happy to meet us as well.

Truly this was a wonderful weekend enjoying the company of my goat sisters!

Isobelle’s Lady, Mimi Foxmorton, and Me

I’m sure I’ll have many more pictures from the trip posted on my photography blog through the next few weeks.  I actually might have enough barns for Barn Charm to last into next year.  You can also see more of Beaverfest on the Sisterhood of the Goat Facebook page (link in my sidebar).  Now that I’m back home, I’ll be making my way around the blogosphere to see what all I’ve been missing out on.

Linking to Wordless Wednesday with Project Alicia, Live and Love Out Loud, Create With Joy, Sarah Halstead, and Tina’s Wordless Wednesday.

Linking to You Capture where this week’s theme is summer!

53 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. TexWisGirl
    Jul 10, 2012 @ 18:32:56

    awesome for you! glad you made a safe and fun trip, even with the heat!

    Reply

  2. chapinranch
    Jul 10, 2012 @ 18:33:59

    looks like you had a very wonderful trip Teresa :-) and a safe return

    Reply

  3. Barbara F.
    Jul 10, 2012 @ 18:49:17

    Well, you made it to my state, but way up North! The Finger Lakes region is beautiful, haven’t been up there in years and years. I think it is great fun to meet blogging friends. Isobelle is a lovely goat and the horse (donkey?) is quite the charmer (city gal here :( ) xo

    Reply

  4. Bev
    Jul 10, 2012 @ 19:04:26

    That is the most beautiful photograph of Dear Isobelle! And Nigel!!!!! Who knew he was so handsome with that smile! Wonderful!

    Reply

  5. Alica
    Jul 10, 2012 @ 19:25:17

    Glad you were able to get away for a bit! And what fun to meet some blogging friends along the way too!

    Reply

  6. Texan
    Jul 10, 2012 @ 19:44:25

    How fun for you! Fun to meet fellow bloggers and animal bloggers :O) …Nigel surely is grinning for his photo! LOL

    Reply

  7. Gail
    Jul 10, 2012 @ 20:22:49

    That’s a lot of miles logged. Looks like a wonderful trip so far! Glad you’re enjoying the beautiful countryside.

    Reply

  8. Create With Joy
    Jul 10, 2012 @ 21:03:59

    I’m so glad you had a vacation! Thanks for sharing your wonderful pictures with us at Create With Joy! :-)

    Reply

  9. Sanghamitra
    Jul 10, 2012 @ 22:06:02

    Gorgeous photography and texture!
    Thanks for sharing. Here, adding a link.
    Hope to see you on my blog:)

    Reply

  10. Pat
    Jul 10, 2012 @ 22:52:50

    Looks like a great trip!

    Reply

  11. barefootnmama
    Jul 11, 2012 @ 00:08:01

    This is wonderful! I am so glad you enjoyed yourself..so happy for you!

    Reply

  12. Kristi (@TweetingMama)
    Jul 11, 2012 @ 02:00:05

    Reply

  13. Tina´s PicStory
    Jul 11, 2012 @ 03:39:21

    hope you have a great trip! it looks like :)

    Reply

  14. Amanda
    Jul 11, 2012 @ 06:23:05

    Sounds like a nice trip! Just a bit farther and you would have been in our neck of the woods :)

    Reply

    • Teresa
      Jul 11, 2012 @ 06:43:46

      I wondered how close I was to you. I kept coming up with a list of people that I knew I had to be fairly close. I think I could spend a whole summer visiting bloggy friends. :-)

      Reply

  15. Stillmary
    Jul 11, 2012 @ 07:11:37

    I enjoyed your ‘summer’ vacation travelogue and it was interesting that you must have passed within a mile or two of where I live. Your pictures, as usual, were very good and interesting. I love how you capture the personalities of the animals you photograph!

    Reply

    • Teresa
      Jul 11, 2012 @ 07:28:37

      I do think animal photography is my favorite! I think I could travel across the whole country and never be far from a fellow blogger!

      Reply

  16. Molly
    Jul 11, 2012 @ 08:56:54

    What an amazing journey you had. I do think America has some of the most beautiful landscape on our planet. I LOVE the last horse picture, just a brilliant capture

    MOllyxxx

    Reply

    • Teresa
      Jul 11, 2012 @ 09:05:49

      Nigel is such a silly little horse with such beauty. It really is beautiful all across the country~at least what I’ve seen of it. :-)

      Reply

  17. Marigold and the Goatmother
    Jul 11, 2012 @ 09:59:28

    You guys are all just awesome! Long live the first Beaverfest! Where did Beavie come from? Has he been a friend since childhood????

    Reply

  18. Rajesh
    Jul 11, 2012 @ 10:05:10

    Looks really exciting trip. Wonderful shots.

    Reply

  19. Kristy Life-n-Reflection
    Jul 11, 2012 @ 11:25:24

    I heart road trip, you probably do have enough barns for a year of barn charm with that route!

    Reply

  20. Gunilla
    Jul 11, 2012 @ 11:32:41

    Wonderful photos! I’m glad you had a nice vacation.

    Reply

  21. Mimi Foxmorton
    Jul 11, 2012 @ 14:12:18

    Hear! Hear!

    The Goat Sisterhood is awesome!

    xo

    Reply

  22. Pat
    Jul 11, 2012 @ 14:26:23

    Welcome back home! It sounds like you had fun and saw an area of NY that is really beautiful! You took great photos along the way ..i always seem to miss the state “welcome” signs when I travel. I have a long road trip out west coming up soon. I hope we have good weather as we drive!

    Reply

    • Teresa
      Jul 11, 2012 @ 15:07:21

      It was really hot to be driving my car all day, but we made it. I confess it took coming and going to get a couple of the states. :-)

      Reply

  23. Gattina
    Jul 11, 2012 @ 14:44:26

    How nice to meet other goat fans ! Your pictures are very nice. 102 f is really hot, I had it in Tunisia for visiting ruins, :) ! I also saw lots of goats but unfortunately only from far !

    Reply

    • Teresa
      Jul 11, 2012 @ 15:08:17

      It has been a horribly hot summer, and Indiana is starting to look like a desert wasteland. :-( It was amazing to spend time with people who have the same love of goats as me.

      Reply

  24. Trackback: On the Homefront « Eden Hills's Blog
  25. Candy C.
    Jul 11, 2012 @ 16:53:03

    Hooray for a lovely trip and how fun that you got to meet up with some of the Goat Sisters! :) The scenery is beautiful and I’m looking forward to seeing all the barns!

    Reply

  26. Jen
    Jul 11, 2012 @ 19:38:22

    The 1st pic is soooo beautiful. Sounds like a very nice, fun, enjoyable trip and so cool you got to meet Goat Sisters :)

    Reply

  27. Sarah Mazzone (@MadeinUSABlog)
    Jul 11, 2012 @ 21:49:31

    This is my first visit to your blog and I already learned quite a bit about living on a farm, very cool. My experiences are limited to the petting zoo, and even then you can’t get that close to a goat!!

    Reply

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

Blog Stats

  • 473,318 hits

For the Love of Blogging, Turn it Off

Copyright Notice

Entire Contents © Copyright 2010 - 2014 Eden Hills. Text and photographs may not be published, broadcast, redistributed, re-blogged or aggregated without express permission. Feel free to contact me to purchase a print or discuss a licensing agreement. Thank you.
Get your own free Blogoversary button!

Disclaimer

The information on this web site is supplied for general reference and educational purposes only. This information does not represent the management practices or thinking of other goat breeders or the veterinary community. I am not a veterinarian, and the information on this site is not intended to replace professional veterinary advice. This information is not intended to diagnose or treat any health problems or illnesses without consulting your veterinarian. I disclaim all liability in connection with the use of this information.
