The Second Round Bale is Gone

The goats have been working hard on eating that second round bale.  We’ve had rain several days this past week, so they weren’t quite as happy with the bale, and I didn’t do quite as good a job of tightening the panel around the bale with the soggy hay at the bottom.

I kind of left a gap at the bottom that some goats seemed to think was put there for their convenience.

It started with the small goats.

Then it was the big goats.  One at first.

Then there were two.

Minnie wasn’t very happy with them being in her way.

Finally, we had some of the biggest goats on the farm in there.  Helen seems to be quite happy to be eating all the hay she wants in the sunshine!

Nothing to do with the bale of hay, but does Litha look huge?  She’s not due until mid-June.  Triplets?

Back to the round bale.  I finally gave up and took the panel off because it was getting crowded in there.

Some goats seemed to think that was an invitation to use it as a bed.  Flower really liked the panel being removed.  She was the undisputed queen of the hay pile.

Finally, they finished it off.

Jeremy brought me the third and final round bale tonight.  It’s not likely that the fence will be done by the time it’s gone, so my new Plan B is buying a haystack from my ex-brother-in-law.  I’m good as long as I have food to feed them.

Linking to You Capture where this week’s them is sunshine.  I’m just going to say, sunshine was hard this past wee, but I’m not complaining.  We’ve really had good rains to end our drought conditions.

34 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. TexWisGirl
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 20:20:47

    such cute tromping monsters! :)

    Reply

  2. Bobbi Sharp
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 20:46:36

    Love the light on Litha! Gorgeous capture.

    Reply

  3. Chai Chai
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 20:59:38

    That poor bale, it never had a chance.

    Reply

  4. Alica
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 21:04:42

    How is it that goats can make anything look like fun?! Oh how I hope you get your fence soon!

    Reply

    • Teresa
      Apr 23, 2012 @ 21:07:29

      We won’t do it until crops are planted, so it will probably be a couple of weeks depending on the weather. Those poor girls are about trampling each other for the little maple seeds falling from the tree.

      Reply

      • Alica
        Apr 23, 2012 @ 21:39:42

        I remember how Jenna’s goats last year just loved those maple tree seeds! Her new goats are finally getting tame! They come running now when I feed them in the morning, and today one actually jumped up on me. I took that as a sign of affection! :)

      • Teresa
        Apr 23, 2012 @ 21:55:09

        Sometimes it can be hard to get them to be truly tame. I have some that I feel lucky to touch their back while I walk past, but they are getting better!

  5. Kris
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 21:13:07

    Last shot is my fav! I love how the sky is dark but the goats still seem to be lit up by the sunshine.

    Reply

  6. Marigold and the Goatmother
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 21:56:38

    Rut Roh! :)

    Reply

  7. Pat
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 23:09:42

    What characters!

    Reply

  8. Stillmary
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 01:14:27

    Lot of shots of lots of goats in lots of sunshine! And then you added in lots of interesting narrative that makes me want to come back and check on the goats and their food supply often. Great post all around!

    Reply

  9. Bindi
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 01:21:00

    My kids loved looking at your pictures. Lots of ‘so cute’ being squealed here! Great pictures and I love how the sunshine is streaming in on Litha.

    Reply

  10. LB
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 02:55:20

    I do hope your neighbour keeps his promise to mend the fence soon x

    Reply

    • Teresa
      Apr 24, 2012 @ 06:22:52

      He will. We’re waiting until they get the crops in. Also my nephew and ex-brother-in-law are still working on planting too. I’m just impatient because I know how much they want to go out and enjoy the green stuff.

      Reply

  11. wdwoodruff
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 05:04:03

    They are cute eating machines, they keep going until it all gone.

    Reply

  12. staylor319
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 06:43:53

    Hah! My goats never get inside the cattle panel surrounding the hay bale when I am looking. Otherwise, they know I will tighten it up. Instead I start to notice goat berries in there and know the little buggers are sneaking in. I woudln’t care except once they have pooped and peed on it, they leave it there want a new, fresh one. Punks!! Stevie@ruffledfeathersandspilledmilk.com

    Reply

    • Teresa
      Apr 24, 2012 @ 07:10:37

      They actually were well-behaved in there. I didn’t see any pellets. It was about time to be opened up anyhow. I’ve been really pleased with how little they have actually wasted.

      Reply

  13. Texan
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 08:12:29

    I tell ya they enjoy getting in the middle of their food! LOL

    Reply

  14. lisa
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 09:09:32

    Now that’s a whole lotta goats Teresa!!!
    You have won the magnolia necklace at WithWords! Congratulations!!
    Please e-mail me with your mailing address, and I’ll get it out to you on Thurs. or Fri. of this week.

    lisa.

    Reply

  15. Candy C.
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 17:45:39

    Good goaties for finishing it all off! :) Love the sunlight after the rain storm!

    Reply

  16. Pat
    Jul 17, 2013 @ 00:11:01

    Just a question, is it ok for my goats to eat the maple samaras?

    Reply

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

Blog Stats

  • 399,619 hits

For the Love of Blogging, Turn it Off

Copyright Notice

Entire Contents © Copyright 2010 - 2014 Eden Hills. Text and photographs may not be published, broadcast, redistributed, re-blogged or aggregated without express permission. Thank you.
Get your own free Blogoversary button!

Disclaimer

The information on this web site is supplied for general reference and educational purposes only. This information does not represent the management practices or thinking of other goat breeders or the veterinary community. I am not a veterinarian, and the information on this site is not intended to replace professional veterinary advice. This information is not intended to diagnose or treat any health problems or illnesses without consulting your veterinarian. I disclaim all liability in connection with the use of this information.
