Family Reunion

I had been telling MJ that as soon as Norma Jean, Maxine’s baby, could figure out nursing, I’d let them back out to pasture.  He’s been pretty pathetic, and I hate when my big boy is sad and lonely.  This morning, he came to hang out in the lane and remind me that I said they would be with him again soon.

MJ

Norma Jean looked cozy in the barn,

Norma Jean

but Maxine has been going stir crazy cooped up in that small pen.

Maxine

Norma Jean is doing quite well at nursing both front teats, and she is nursing a little from the back two.  As she gets bigger, she’ll keep them all nursed down.

I opened the gate, and Maxine was quick to make her exit from that pen.

Norma Jean seemed to find it to be a grand adventure!

Maxine knew exactly where she was headed~out of the barn.

Ah, fresh air and blue sky is wonderful after being shut in for several days.

Here comes Norma Jean again!  She’s not about to get too far from her mom.

All she has to do now is go around the panel she’s looking over, and then she’ll be home free~back in the pasture.

Somebody is getting a little wild with her freedom!

Finally in the lane and away from that pen and hay.  (Looks like I need to do some cleaning in that lane.)

Look at MJ laying in the pasture completely unaware that they are coming!

Finally the whole family is together again!  I think MJ likes that Norma Jean looks like him.

Maxine is so happy to see MJ that she gives him kisses while Norma Jean is off exploring.

Finally my big boy is not lonely and Maxine is happy to be out in the pasture with her baby.

What a happy family we have now!  I’m sure there will be more family reunion stories this week.

Linking to Homestead Barn Hop.

Blog Stats

  • 474,007 hits

For the Love of Blogging, Turn it Off

Copyright Notice

Entire Contents © Copyright 2010 - 2014 Eden Hills. Text and photographs may not be published, broadcast, redistributed, re-blogged or aggregated without express permission. Feel free to contact me to purchase a print or discuss a licensing agreement. Thank you.
Get your own free Blogoversary button!

Disclaimer

The information on this web site is supplied for general reference and educational purposes only. This information does not represent the management practices or thinking of other goat breeders or the veterinary community. I am not a veterinarian, and the information on this site is not intended to replace professional veterinary advice. This information is not intended to diagnose or treat any health problems or illnesses without consulting your veterinarian. I disclaim all liability in connection with the use of this information.