Rescuing Vixen

As grateful as I am to have the round bales for the goats to eat, I have had reservations about it.  I’ve had to help several girls out of the cattle panel.  Those horns go in much easier than they come out.

Goats naturally want to burrow to the bottom or middle and find the best tasting morsel.

Annie

Look at the holes they’ve bored into the hay.

Betty Lou

That works when I open a bale and put hay in the feed tubs, but some goats~

Sugar

Vinnie

Dolly

Pistol

Sallie

have had a hard time not getting stuck.  Luckily I’ve been able to get them out.

Then I went out on Sunday and found Vixen with her head through the panel.  She couldn’t get it out, and she had a big hole eaten out but tightly packed hay above her.  I couldn’t move her head to get it back out.

Vixen

Lotus was taking advantage of Vixen being stuck to poke her in the belly with her horns.

Lotus

Finally, my dad arrived with the saws-all.  I held Vixen’s head and Dad cut one of the bars of the panel.  She was free!

Vixen

I hope this is the worst we have to deal with before I get to let them out to pasture.

Linking to Alphabe-Thursday where the letter is V.  V is for Vixen.

Linking to Rural Thursday hosted by Nancy at A Rural Journal and Lisa at Two Bears Farm.

Blog Stats

  • 465,126 hits

For the Love of Blogging, Turn it Off

Copyright Notice

Entire Contents © Copyright 2010 - 2014 Eden Hills. Text and photographs may not be published, broadcast, redistributed, re-blogged or aggregated without express permission. Thank you.
Get your own free Blogoversary button!

Disclaimer

The information on this web site is supplied for general reference and educational purposes only. This information does not represent the management practices or thinking of other goat breeders or the veterinary community. I am not a veterinarian, and the information on this site is not intended to replace professional veterinary advice. This information is not intended to diagnose or treat any health problems or illnesses without consulting your veterinarian. I disclaim all liability in connection with the use of this information.