The Round Bale/Fence Update

We put a round bale of hay out for the goats last week.  They really were enjoying it, but it was getting hard for them to reach the hay.

Pebbles

There was just a little bit around the bottom, but they didn’t want to eat it.  Despite what people think about goats eating anything, they really are finicky eaters.

Muffin

Reaching through has left their faces and horns are all black from rubbing against the panels.

Helen

Tonight my son helped me tighten the cattle panel around the remains of the bale.

We went from using two cattle panels to one.  When we started, the bale reached all the way out to the post.

Vixen

We’ve had a couple of goats get their heads stuck.  That’s my fault for not making these adjustments sooner, but that’s what happens when I’m sick.

Do you see all that green back there?  That’s my pasture.  That’s what I wish the goats were eating~lush green grass.

But they are eating round bales.  I only have enough to feed them for about another month.

Before we can let the goats out there to eat all that green grass, the fence on my southern border needs to look like this (imagine the green grass).

That means we need to start seeing scenes like this around my farm.

I’m thankful that I have these round bales to feed the goats, but it makes me nervous when I have something that has to be done, and I can’t do it myself.  I don’t know what I’ll do if they don’t follow through.

Linking to Thankful ThursdayRural Thursday, Friday’s Fences, Farmgirl Friday, Forever Farmgirls Friday

Blog Stats

  • 439,245 hits

For the Love of Blogging, Turn it Off

Copyright Notice

Entire Contents © Copyright 2010 - 2014 Eden Hills. Text and photographs may not be published, broadcast, redistributed, re-blogged or aggregated without express permission. Thank you.
Get your own free Blogoversary button!

Disclaimer

The information on this web site is supplied for general reference and educational purposes only. This information does not represent the management practices or thinking of other goat breeders or the veterinary community. I am not a veterinarian, and the information on this site is not intended to replace professional veterinary advice. This information is not intended to diagnose or treat any health problems or illnesses without consulting your veterinarian. I disclaim all liability in connection with the use of this information.