Whiny Wordful Wednesday

If you’re brave, you can continue reading.  Just be warned: there will be whining and possibly some semi-graphic illness conversation.  If you’re here for the pictures, please look and enjoy, but you might want to skip the reading.  If you’ve got the stomach read on.

pink flowering almond

I try to be fairly true to life with what’s going on around here.  Occasionally I candy coat or minimize or use macro to hide the weeds surrounding things.  For the most part, it’s what’s going on.  I’m at a point where I just don’t know what to do.  Since last Sunday, March 25th, I’ve been sick.  It hit fast and it hit hard with severe diarrhea that entire night.  (I warned you.)

columbine

This fever and diarrhea continued and continued and I went to the doctor and it continued.  It did improve, but still it was there, and my stomach was horrible swollen.  My diet consisted of the ABC’s of diarrhea:  apples, bananas, and cereal.  Honestly, that’s it.  Still, any time I did anything physical, I would spike a fever and go running to the bathroom.

NO yard geese!

I tried not to do things, but it’s a farm.  The animals don’t care if I’m miserable.  They still want fed and watered.  It wore me out to make a bottle and take to Myson.  That’s not a strenuous task.

apple blossoms and lilac

My family is wonderful.  They came to help me, but it seemed that every time someone helped me, it caused me twice as much work.  I don’t know how, but it did.  For example, my son didn’t know about the trick with the grain bin, and it ended up dumping about two days’ worth of grain onto the concrete.  I had to scoop it up and haul it to the barn.  He was helping with this, but he got a call and had to leave.

See the tiny spider on the apple blossom.

Finally, my nephew Brandon has been coming to help with chores each day, and I stand out there and give coaching and minimal help.  This seems to be working fairly well.  The animals are getting used to him, and we’re getting them back into a routine of who goes where and nobody is going to starve, and they aren’t quite flattening anybody in a stampede.

luffa gourd

Eventually, I got to where I could actually make a trip around the yard with the camera to take a few pictures.  That’s how I’ve managed to continue blogging.  That’s the extent of my activities for the week: a bottle kid here and there, watching and somewhat assisting with chores, and an occasional stroll around the yard.

parrot tulip

I missed all of work last week.  Finally, this Sunday I felt better.  The distention in my stomach went down, and I actually felt almost normal.  I just needed to take it easy.  I also needed to start getting back to food, so I tried some vegetable stock with oyster crackers.  That went well.

lilac

Later, I got all wild and crazy and tried some Campbell’s vegetarian vegetable soup. How much closer to vegetable stock can you get?  I went to work on Monday.  I was tired, but I made it!  Then I got home and realized what a bad choice the vegetable soup was.  I was set back by about three days.  Really!?!   My stomach is all bloated again and my guts are gurgling and grumbling and more rushed trips to the bathroom.

apple blossom

It’s not fair!  I’m back to apples, bananas,  (dry) cereal, and vegetable stock.  I stayed home from work today in hopes that as little activity as possible would help me heal more quickly.  I want to do chores myself.  I am fantasizing about food.  I want to go to work.  I have a growing list of things that I just have to get done.

Penny Blackboer

As long as I’m not back to normal, you can expect lots of posts primarily of pictures.  Thank goodness Mother Nature is putting on such a wonderful display right now.

Linking to Wordless Wednesday with Project Alicia.

42 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. TexWisGirl
    Apr 03, 2012 @ 15:58:03

    oh, that’s TERRIBLE, teresa! such beauty all around you, and you’re feeling absolutely miserable! i’m so sorry! i do hope the upward battle continues again!

    Reply

  2. Barbara F.
    Apr 03, 2012 @ 16:01:23

    Teresa, I hope you are feeling much better. I had a horrible intestinal flu on March 8th and it lasted 5 days, with the diarrhea and chills and aches, etc. I lived on water and apple juice, with a bite or two of an English muffin. Only good thing is I dropped a few pounds. lol xo

    Reply

  3. Pondside
    Apr 03, 2012 @ 16:09:39

    Teresa, I’m so sorry to hear about this. BIG sympathy! I’ve had food poisoning and that’s what it was like. It took a good week or more before I was able to eat anything decent.
    I had to smile at the contrast between your words and photos! Good for you!

    Reply

    • Teresa
      Apr 03, 2012 @ 16:11:32

      Trust me. You don’t want photos of the other. :-) I assume this is food poisoning however that happened. I learned. I’ll not be adding any new foods to my diet for several days.

      Reply

  4. egwow
    Apr 03, 2012 @ 16:12:19

    I hope my last comment is there! I am having so much trouble with WordPress!

    Anyway, I want you to know that I hope you are feeling better! Beautiful photos.

    Reply

    • Teresa
      Apr 03, 2012 @ 16:16:57

      I have changed my blog so you don’t have to put the e-mail address on here. You can just do your name and website. :-) I am better, but certainly not back to normal.

      Reply

  5. Texan
    Apr 03, 2012 @ 16:28:07

    Oh girly so sorry your not feeling well… the photos are just lovely :O)

    Reply

  6. icybc
    Apr 03, 2012 @ 16:29:43

    I don’t mind reading your ranting, because it made you real to me, like I’m listening to a close friend. So sorry to hear about your illness, but glad to hear that you’re doing better.

    Your photos are gorgeous!

    (PS–Blogger and WordPress always like to make things more complicated ;-)

    Reply

    • Teresa
      Apr 03, 2012 @ 17:18:35

      This is the first real annoying thing from WordPress. It was an easy fix for me to turn off the e-mail requirement. Glad you were here to read my ranting. :-)

      Reply

  7. Candy C.
    Apr 03, 2012 @ 16:57:37

    After your intro how could I NOT read on! ;)
    I certainly hope you can get to feeling better soon! I have heard several people say that the flu bug that is going around right now is really, really bad. A couple of my friends have required two doctor visits beacuse it just won’t go away. I’m glad you are getting some help with your farm chores. The critters just don’t “go away” when we are sick. {{HUGS}}

    Reply

  8. meg
    Apr 03, 2012 @ 17:41:36

    Hope you are feeling better! The pictures are just beautiful… makes me miss warm weather (moved to MT from GA about 1.5 yrs ago). The last time the tummy but hit…. it got the entire family when we were camping in Joshua Tree CA. My son got it first during the day… that night I woke up ran out side of our camper (box with a bed) I stayed outside under the stars puking and pooping (at the same time) all night (naked)…. it was NOT fun… no bathroom in sight… thank goodness for baby wipes and hand sanitizer (and no neighbors)! From there we got a hotel room for the rest of the family’s bout with it…. all 6 of us… unfortunately for me I was the only one stuck in the middle of NOWHERE when it was my turn!

    Reply

  9. Pat
    Apr 03, 2012 @ 18:40:51

    Despite your illness, you are certainly taking some beautiful pictures.
    I do hope you feel better soon.

    Reply

  10. Marigold and the Goatmother
    Apr 03, 2012 @ 19:07:51

    There’s absolutely nothing worse than the dreaded ‘D’ disease, in my book. You don’t suppose you might have contracted Giardia somehow do you? I’m so sorry you are feeling badly and I hope you are well very soon!

    Reply

    • Teresa
      Apr 03, 2012 @ 19:20:36

      I’m sure it’s some little microbial monster. I am getting better though. I just won’t add anything new to my diet for a while. :-)

      Reply

  11. Sharon Qualls
    Apr 03, 2012 @ 20:21:38

    So sorry this keeps hanging on. Have you been to the Dr? You may have some kind of parasite, one of my sons had what you describe, a couple of years ago and that’s what it was. He isn’t a farmer or does much in his yard besides mowing, no dogs at his house, just inside cats. So no idea where it came from.
    I really hope you get better soon!

    XXX

    Reply

    • Teresa
      Apr 03, 2012 @ 20:31:07

      I did see the doctor. I just need more time for my poor guts to heal. Those little parasites and bacteria are everywhere! Nasty little buggers.

      Reply

  12. WolfSong
    Apr 03, 2012 @ 20:52:13

    Sending healing thoughts your way for a full recovery!! Hope you feel better soon.
    Love the pictures!

    Reply

  13. Alica
    Apr 03, 2012 @ 21:06:19

    I’m sorry you’ve been feeling so rotten! NO fun! Thanks for sharing all these beautiful pics with us despite not feeling well…hope you’re soon better!!

    Reply

  14. Bobbi
    Apr 03, 2012 @ 21:11:05

    Oh my that’s just awful. You could try adding rice to the stock to work in some bulk but staying in that BRATT diet of not feeling well. Me I live on the TT of tea and toast. I can’t do apples ever when sick. Feel better soon!

    Reply

    • Teresa
      Apr 03, 2012 @ 21:19:45

      Apple juice and applesauce are doing okay. I’m craving lasagna, so I think I’ll just stick with what has been working and keep fantasizing. :-)

      Reply

  15. momto8blog
    Apr 03, 2012 @ 21:19:03

    hope you are feeling better veery soon!
    Your pictures are beautiful!

    Reply

  16. Nikki Larson
    Apr 04, 2012 @ 07:48:09

    Teresa,

    You should have your Doctor test you for Campylbactor (sp?). It is a bacteria found in chickens, etc. I got it the first year we were on the farm and was soooo sick and so weak. I was sick for a month before I finally went to the Doctor and found out what was wrong.

    Hope you feel better soon!

    ~Nikki
    (A new and faithful reader)

    Reply

  17. Nancy
    Apr 04, 2012 @ 07:55:50

    I’m so sorry you are not feeling well, Teresa. Not fair this time of year when everything is blooming and the weather has been so nice. Hope you get over whatever it is you have.

    Gorgeous blooms and plants. :)

    Reply

  18. Window On The Prairie
    Apr 04, 2012 @ 11:01:05

    SAme thing happened to me last spring. I tried the BRAT diet and it worked. Bananas, Rice, Applesauce, and Toast.
    Hang in there!

    Reply

  19. Window On The Prairie
    Apr 04, 2012 @ 11:07:18

    Yay! That’s the first comment I’ve been able to get to stick on a wordpress blog for a couple weeks. I have a wordpress blog and a gravatar, and have been logged into both of them but wasn’t able to comment until today.
    Stupid wordpress. Dumb change. Why would they want to make it hard for people to leave comments. What a load of crap. Pardon my french.
    Thanks for letting me vent. :)

    Reply

    • Teresa
      Apr 04, 2012 @ 11:09:17

      I agree. It makes it closer to Blogger which is one of the reasons I don’t like it (even though Millie’s blog is on Blogger). I figured taking the requirement for the e-mail address was the easiest way to do it. I wondered why I wasn’t getting as many comments.

      Reply

  20. Robyn
    Apr 04, 2012 @ 11:43:56

    Teresa
    I hope you feel better soon! Sending you well wishes.

    You pictures are stunning. One needs a little fresh air when sick.

    Reply

  21. Jen
    Apr 04, 2012 @ 20:33:44

    Goodness girl… I hope ya feel better soon! Thats awful but ya did post some really pretty pics.

    Reply

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

Blog Stats

  • 396,877 hits

For the Love of Blogging, Turn it Off

Copyright Notice

Entire Contents © Copyright 2010 - 2014 Eden Hills. Text and photographs may not be published, broadcast, redistributed, re-blogged or aggregated without express permission. Thank you.
Get your own free Blogoversary button!

Disclaimer

The information on this web site is supplied for general reference and educational purposes only. This information does not represent the management practices or thinking of other goat breeders or the veterinary community. I am not a veterinarian, and the information on this site is not intended to replace professional veterinary advice. This information is not intended to diagnose or treat any health problems or illnesses without consulting your veterinarian. I disclaim all liability in connection with the use of this information.
