Kidding: Round Two

I can’t believe we’re getting for the next round of kids.  The first group was quite challenging:  three does, six kids, three bottle babies, one nearly fatal illness.

Hi, I'm helping my human mommy.

I hope round two is a lot easier.

Today I put up a fence cattle panel to make a separate pen for Pam and Bambi.

Someday I might get things done so that I have a separate building with several birthing pens where nobody would have to share.  For now, this will seem to work.

The only problem is that Bambi and Pam are both little pampered princesses.  Try getting those personalities to get along.  It’s not easy.  They are both pretty far down in the pecking order, and you think they’d enjoy it being just the two of them.

Stormy says she’d be happy to go in and eat without some of the big ones getting pushy.

Pam is due March 21.

Pam Street

What? It's all baby fat. Really.

Bambi is due March 22.

Bambi Blackboer

I don't know what she's talking about. I'm the only princess here.

I hope these are a lot easier.  After all, these are the ones I planned!  They are our first Boeris babies.

Linking to Friday’s Fences.

Linking to Forever Farmgirls Friday.

Linking to Farmgirl Friday.

Linking to Camera Critters.

54 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Beth - Virginia
    Mar 15, 2012 @ 19:39:35

    that is too funny!! great shots. love to hear how all animals (like people) have such personalities. make me giggle & smile. (:

    Reply

  2. Chai Chai
    Mar 15, 2012 @ 19:56:30

    Pam has got to have at least twins in there. I love cattle panels, they are so versatile!

    Reply

  3. TexWisGirl
    Mar 15, 2012 @ 20:00:49

    hoping these girls do well together and have good, healthy, easy babies, too!

    Reply

    • Teresa
      Mar 15, 2012 @ 20:06:54

      I’m sure they do better when I’m not around to compete for the top princess spot. It’s not bad anyhow. I really hope they are easy and healthy. :-) We need it after round one.

      Reply

  4. Alica
    Mar 15, 2012 @ 20:21:38

    I hope it goes well for them! (and you!)

    Reply

  5. Gone Country
    Mar 15, 2012 @ 20:33:23

    The birthing pen looks great. Crossing my fingers that these two princesses will have easy births (especially for the human!).

    They are just adorable! I will never tire of seeing such sweet faces!

    Reply

  6. Rose
    Mar 15, 2012 @ 21:30:34

    They look like they could pop any minute.

    Reply

  7. Sharon Qualls
    Mar 15, 2012 @ 21:58:51

    Here’s hoping that all will go well and you have some healthy (and adorable) kids!

    Reply

  8. magicalmysticalteacher
    Mar 15, 2012 @ 22:16:26

    I used to keep goats, so your photos bring back precious memories. Thank you!

    Feather in the Fence

    Reply

  9. Marigold and the Goatmother
    Mar 15, 2012 @ 22:44:26

    I hope things go much smoother this round. How is it you manage to get all your subjects to pose for you so nicely? I’m sure it isn’t ‘say cheese’… maybe ‘say Peanut’? :)

    Reply

  10. Pat
    Mar 15, 2012 @ 23:12:02

    I love Bambi’s black and white markings. Good luck with these two pretty girls.

    Reply

  11. Ebie Lasola
    Mar 15, 2012 @ 23:34:26

    You have your hands full! Hoping for a healthy and safe birthing process.

    I am trying to comment the third time. I have to log in. I hope this works now.
    It is not, letting me comment using my blog name.

    Reply

    • Teresa
      Mar 16, 2012 @ 06:43:48

      Sorry you’re having problems commenting. Sometimes, it puts comments in spam, but I just take them back out. The girls do keep me busy.

      Reply

  12. Linda
    Mar 16, 2012 @ 04:06:58

    What fun! But a lot of work! I loved the commentary with the photos…feel like I know the girls now! The attitude definitely shows through!

    Reply

  13. Jen
    Mar 16, 2012 @ 06:15:51

    Never ending job, right. But we love it! Your a good goat momma too. Good luck on this round, cant wait to see those babies. You really do live in goat heaven :)

    Reply

  14. Candy C.
    Mar 16, 2012 @ 07:08:16

    Love the picture of Myson helping you make pretzels! ;)
    Poor Pam, she is just huge! Fingers crossed for easy births and pretty Boeris kids!! :)

    Reply

  15. Janis
    Mar 16, 2012 @ 07:55:03

    Exciting n busy times around the farm. Love seeing n hearing about the adventures of your goat family. Can’t wait to see the babbies!!!

    Reply

  16. dianne7777
    Mar 16, 2012 @ 08:41:23

    they’re so cute
    you have a wonderful maternity ward set up

    Reply

  17. faye
    Mar 16, 2012 @ 10:17:48

    What characters they appear to be! In their “glamour” shots it’s just like they’re mourning their expanding waistlines. :-) Seems like you’re finding good solutions for the problems you encounter and don’t have time to fix permanently, like fenced maternity ward.

    Reply

  18. Mimi Foxmorton
    Mar 16, 2012 @ 11:09:19

    There is naught any cuter than a wee kid!
    Half the time they don’t even look real. They look like perfect stuffed animals! ;)

    Reply

  19. Manang Kim (@ManangKim)
    Mar 16, 2012 @ 16:49:37

    These goats know how to pose. Make me laugh! Love it!

    Friday Fences

    Reply

  20. genie
    Mar 16, 2012 @ 19:25:40

    How in the world do you do it all? It must definitely a 24 hour a day job. So glad the first group is getting along ok, and the ill baby is better. You only have a few days left before the next group arrives. Hope all goes well. genie

    Reply

  21. Texan
    Mar 16, 2012 @ 21:05:19

    Hope all the new kids are healthy and go great and the moms! Such cute pictures you have in this post

    Reply

    • Teresa
      Mar 16, 2012 @ 21:29:57

      Thanks. I’m sure Pam will do well. She’s a pro. It is Bambi’s first time. I hope she does well because she’s awfully stuck up except when I have food.

      Reply

  22. Vaish
    Mar 17, 2012 @ 09:58:21

    I love the way ‘Pam Street’ looks back, it is as if telling us ‘this is my area, don’t you dare to come in’^^

    Reply

  23. Tatjana Parkacheva
    Mar 17, 2012 @ 11:03:56

    More babies?? Must be fun on your farm. And a lot of work :)
    And I think Pam will have twins :D

    Regards and best wishes

    Reply

  24. Cheryl @ Deckside
    Mar 17, 2012 @ 11:11:34

    I hope these births go easier on the mamas, babes, and especially you.

    Reply

  25. eileen
    Mar 17, 2012 @ 12:22:14

    Wonderful post. I laughed at the all baby fat comment. Brings back memories. HA! Your farm must be a lot of fun, I would love it there seeing all the critters and baby animals. Thanks for sharing your critters , have a happy weekend!

    Reply

  26. EG CameraGirl , Canada
    Mar 17, 2012 @ 14:33:09

    Oh my, Teresa! Already into the next round? My fingers are crossed that this time the kids will be a little easier. :)

    Reply

    • Teresa
      Mar 17, 2012 @ 15:06:41

      This is the first group that I planned. Then we’ll have two more oopsies at the beginning of May. Then the majority will kid in June.

      Reply

  27. Kay L. Davies
    Mar 17, 2012 @ 20:27:22

    Fabulous photos, Teresa. You’ve sure got your hands full, though. All the best with Pam and Bambi’s due dates.
    K

    Reply

    • Teresa
      Mar 17, 2012 @ 21:43:08

      Thanks. I don’t expect them to have any problems. I’m optimistic that we got all the difficulties out of the way with the first group. :-)

      Reply

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

Blog Stats

  • 473,877 hits

For the Love of Blogging, Turn it Off

Copyright Notice

Entire Contents © Copyright 2010 - 2014 Eden Hills. Text and photographs may not be published, broadcast, redistributed, re-blogged or aggregated without express permission. Feel free to contact me to purchase a print or discuss a licensing agreement. Thank you.
Get your own free Blogoversary button!

Disclaimer

The information on this web site is supplied for general reference and educational purposes only. This information does not represent the management practices or thinking of other goat breeders or the veterinary community. I am not a veterinarian, and the information on this site is not intended to replace professional veterinary advice. This information is not intended to diagnose or treat any health problems or illnesses without consulting your veterinarian. I disclaim all liability in connection with the use of this information.
