This and That and Whatever

I had to go to town today and get some feed.  I did that nasty habit of drive by photography again.  Someday when it’s warm, I  might actually stop, but the geese were all huddled down today.  Made me think it was too cold to stop and walk around.

When I was getting my feed, I noticed that the farm store has baby chicks!  I think that means that spring is near.  You should be proud of me.  I didn’t bring any home because my lovely hens are kicking up production.

I’ve even found eleven eggs on a couple of days.  I did sell some at work, and I put up a notice in the post office.  I think I need to find some better advertising.

Yesterday I found my first goose egg of the year.  Actually, I found two eggs by stepping on the nest, but I only got to bring one to the house because I smashed the other one.

I also brought home another egg from town that is a clear indication of spring.  My favorite egg is the Reese’s peanut butter egg.

All the thoughts of spring has started me thinking about the garden season.  I brought home some containers to start seeds.

I’d feel bad about buying plastic, but I will try to treat them gently and use them for several years.  It would be nice to find the time to make some of those nice newspaper pots, but I don’t think I could get enough made.  I already planted some luffa seeds in reused pots.  It takes a long time for them to germinate.

I want to plant a pretty big garden.  I do well at starting tomatoes, but my peppers are not as reliable.  I think it’s because I try to use my front porch as a greenhouse (big wishful thinking sigh), and it doesn’t keep the temperatures consistent enough for the seeds.

This year, I’d also like to plant some calendula.  I tried using it in some soap this fall.  I plan on using the petals from my flowers for my soap because it turned out well.

Calendula is reported to have wonderful healing properties.  Speaking of soap, I had to make some more oatmeal and honey goats milk soap last weekend because I’ve sold quite a bit.

I still have a lot of soap for sale in my online market.  There’s a link in my sidebar.  Well, I must get this posted because my sister is in town, and I’m going to see her.

She better be taking a jar or two of spider plants with her.  The poor things truly need planted.

Linking to SOOC Sunday.

Linking to Macro Monday.  No true macros this week, so I hope the close ups are okay. :-)

42 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. audrey
    Feb 25, 2012 @ 18:44:33

    I love yout blogs, so uplifting. I want so bad to do a garden but I don’t have a green thumb at all. Miss you haven’t talked to you lately. Hope the girls are doing good waiting fo March babies. I will be thinking of them and you:)

    Reply

    • Teresa
      Feb 25, 2012 @ 18:51:19

      It’s been really busy here and at work the last few days. I expect kids about the middle of the week. Of course I’ll be posting on those happy events!

      Reply

  2. Mimi Foxmorton
    Feb 25, 2012 @ 18:49:44

    Ooo! Baby chciks at TSC ARE a sign of spring! :)

    I adore calendula!

    Reply

  3. Nancy
    Feb 25, 2012 @ 18:49:51

    I keep saying I’m going to get my seeds started… I think tomorrow might be a good day.

    Reply

  4. TexWisGirl
    Feb 25, 2012 @ 18:58:19

    everything’s producing there (or getting ready to produce!) have a great time with your sis!

    Reply

  5. Marigold and the Goatmother
    Feb 25, 2012 @ 19:19:56

    Arghh! I had the toughest time finding the comments. But I persevered! :) The Goatmother says, Reese’s Peanut Butter Eggs? Your killing her! She’s on Weight Watchers. :) I am sorry, too, you found the egg by stepping on it. It was a good egg …

    Reply

    • Teresa
      Feb 25, 2012 @ 19:22:54

      It was a good egg, but by the time they get done laying, I’ll have resorted to just chucking them into the field. You can only use so many goose eggs, and they are very prolific. Sorry about the hard time finding comments. I didn’t realize I had hidden them.

      Reply

  6. Janis
    Feb 25, 2012 @ 19:33:42

    Busy as ever I see. Spring is in the air…hope it doesnt turn cold now!!!

    Reply

  7. Alica
    Feb 25, 2012 @ 21:14:08

    This might be a dumb question, but do geese lay eggs in the same manner as chickens…one every day? And do they taste different?
    My favorite is the Reeses egg…nothing better! :)

    Reply

    • Teresa
      Feb 25, 2012 @ 23:12:08

      I don’t know how often they lay. It has to be about daily because my geese can fill a nest so fast it isn’t funny. I have cooked with them before, and they are fine. The texture is a bit different. The reason I don’t usually cook with them is because they are so broody and share nests that they almost always have a bloody spot.

      Reply

  8. Linda
    Feb 26, 2012 @ 06:19:26

    You are so smart getting started with your seeds…..I am so anxious for Spring….signs are all around here in West TN. Have a Blessed Sunday!

    Reply

    • Teresa
      Feb 26, 2012 @ 07:45:16

      I hope its’ smart. Sometimes I get started too soon and end up repotting my seedlings because it’s too cold for them to go out yet.

      Reply

  9. Tayet
    Feb 26, 2012 @ 08:27:06

    We found our first egg of the year yesterday! It was a duck egg. We’re hoping she’ll lay a lot more and get broody. Fingers crossed!

    Reply

  10. Pat
    Feb 26, 2012 @ 09:06:34

    Farm fresh eggs are so good! So are the peanut butter kind.
    Have a nice visit with your sister!

    Reply

  11. mommygen
    Feb 26, 2012 @ 09:14:56

    Fresh eggs like it. From SOOC Sunday.

    Reply

  12. Jenny Matlock
    Feb 26, 2012 @ 11:26:28

    What a sprightly, springy post! I love your ‘drive by shootings’. They feel like I’m right there with you!

    Happy Sunday!

    Reply

  13. Candy C.
    Feb 26, 2012 @ 17:41:20

    Yep, Reese’s peanut butter eggs are a sure sign of spring! :)
    I love the flower soap mold and congrats on your oatmeal and honey goat milk soap sales!
    Did your sister take lots and lots of baby spider plants?!?

    Reply

    • Teresa
      Feb 26, 2012 @ 17:54:12

      She did stop and take a bunch with her, but I still have more to plant. I might see if the teacher who does the garden club at work wants them. :-)

      Reply

  14. Lea
    Feb 26, 2012 @ 21:45:46

    Lovely photos of the eggs!
    I see you have the ‘Clemson Spineless’ okra seeds. That’s what I planted last year, and I was well pleased with them. This year I plan to grow a different variety ‘Silver Queen’ because I was given some free seeds. I don’t have a big enough garden to grow both kinds of okra.
    Spring is on its way!
    Happy gardening!
    Lea
    Lea’s Menagerie

    Reply

    • Teresa
      Feb 26, 2012 @ 22:05:38

      We had such a horrible gardening year last year. The poor plants didn’t start growing and doing well until it was too late for them to produce much. I’m much more optimistic for this year.

      Reply

  15. Kim,USA
    Feb 26, 2012 @ 21:59:54

    Looks like you are ready for spring. Love fresh eggs!

    MM

    Reply

  16. Herding Cats
    Feb 27, 2012 @ 06:03:50

    The one thing I miss about no longer keeping ducks, apart from the ducks themselves, is collecting the wonderful eggs. Fantastic pictures.

    Reply

  17. Bee Girl (AKA Melissa)
    Feb 27, 2012 @ 08:47:55

    That’s quite the egg! Now, forgive my ignorance, but do duck eggs taste much different from chicken eggs? I’d think just one of those bad boys could make a good sized omelette! :-)

    Reply

    • Teresa
      Feb 27, 2012 @ 09:03:05

      The duck eggs are similar in size to the chicken eggs. This is a goose egg, which can be huge. The taste of of the duck and goose is identical. They do have just a little different texture to them. :-)

      Reply

  18. tbnranch
    Feb 27, 2012 @ 11:18:49

    Glad I found your blog, great pics! :)

    Reply

  19. Carol L McKenna (@artmusedog)
    Feb 27, 2012 @ 12:01:45

    Wow! Wonderful ‘driveby’ photos ~ beautiful country ~namaste, carol (A Creative Harbor) linked with Macro Mon

    Reply

  20. Kala
    Feb 27, 2012 @ 19:25:09

    Wonderful photos of the fresh eggs.

    Happy MM

    Reply

  21. Shel G
    Feb 28, 2012 @ 14:07:35

    Thanks for reminding me to get my seeds started. Every year I start them late but this year I’m gonna getter done on time! It was a treat to visit your blog today. Wish I had more time to lurk. :)

    Reply

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

Blog Stats

  • 435,142 hits

For the Love of Blogging, Turn it Off

Copyright Notice

Entire Contents © Copyright 2010 - 2014 Eden Hills. Text and photographs may not be published, broadcast, redistributed, re-blogged or aggregated without express permission. Thank you.
Get your own free Blogoversary button!

Disclaimer

The information on this web site is supplied for general reference and educational purposes only. This information does not represent the management practices or thinking of other goat breeders or the veterinary community. I am not a veterinarian, and the information on this site is not intended to replace professional veterinary advice. This information is not intended to diagnose or treat any health problems or illnesses without consulting your veterinarian. I disclaim all liability in connection with the use of this information.
