An Eggstra Special Find

Last August I bought a batch of little hens after losing my flock to a raccoon.

It was the first time since I got my first chickens twelve years ago that I hadn’t had my own farm fresh eggs.  Luckily, my sister helped me out, and I didn’t have to go back to those horrible store bought eggs.

Yesterday, I peeked at my nest box.  Do you see them?  Not one, but two wonderful eggs!

I’m so happy my little girls are growing up and starting to provide me with eggs.

They aren’t even itty bitty pullet eggs.  They are small but pretty impressive for their first effort.

Linking to Farm Photo Friday.

Linking to Camera Critters.

36 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. TexWisGirl
    Jan 06, 2012 @ 18:43:56

    awww! very cool!

    Reply

  2. Candy C.
    Jan 06, 2012 @ 18:45:38

    YAY for your girls!! :)
    I’m still waiting for the first egg from my new chickens, probably in another month.

    Reply

    • Teresa
      Jan 06, 2012 @ 18:53:10

      I’m surprised they started in the middle of winter, but I do have a light in the building for them. That might have been enough to let them start.

      Reply

  3. Chai Chai
    Jan 06, 2012 @ 19:20:32

    What a blessing! Having your own eggs just makes the meal.

    Reply

  4. Marigold and the Goatmother
    Jan 06, 2012 @ 19:22:35

    Yay! Fresh eggs. Do you think you could get them to lay any fresh Peanuts? Now that would be the bees’ knees. :)

    Reply

  5. Pam
    Jan 06, 2012 @ 19:23:49

    Way to go girls!!! Congrats! :)

    Reply

  6. jen
    Jan 06, 2012 @ 20:14:33

    Awwww… thats so sweet of them. YaY for eggs! So happy for you that they have started layin :)

    Reply

    • Teresa
      Jan 06, 2012 @ 20:34:35

      I’m thrilled. I have to say that my sister and a cousin have both given me eggs so I didn’t have to buy any. I’m blessed with eggs and a great family!

      Reply

  7. Alica
    Jan 06, 2012 @ 23:07:07

    Don’t you just love it when you find those first eggs?! I never get tired of finding them.

    Reply

  8. Bev
    Jan 07, 2012 @ 05:36:28

    Yay! What pretty eggs! Chickens are such wonderful birds! I never lose that fun of peeking into the nest boxes to find eggs.

    My Black Orp Molly has lately been “helping” me do that. When I come out to the coop in the evening to feed, put them away and check for eggs she comes over and peers into the nest boxes with me, talking away in her mellow, low toned voice. When I pick an egg out she follows my hand from the box to the bucket and murmurs! She’s so funny. I always ask her to tell me if one was laid by her but she’s one of my older girls so I don’t think they are.

    Reply

    • Teresa
      Jan 07, 2012 @ 07:57:18

      They are quite funny. I have one that follows me like a puppy when I’m in there. She tugs on my pant leg to get my attention. I’m glad they’ve started laying, even though I know it will be pretty sporadic for a while yet.

      Reply

  9. Nancy
    Jan 07, 2012 @ 08:26:06

    My little chicks are giving me 2-3 eggs every other day too! Isn’t it grand? :)

    Reply

  10. JoyceAnn
    Jan 07, 2012 @ 17:47:55

    You were blessed to have family that provided fresh eggs for you. I’ve bought a couple of dozen at the grocery store while my girls were molting , never again I hope. I vowed to never be without fresh eggs again. I plan to buy 3 or 4 adult hens soon and some chicks in the Spring.I haven’t had much success with broody hens , the only one I’ve had was killed by some stray dogs.

    Blessings

    Reply

    • Teresa
      Jan 07, 2012 @ 18:17:39

      I don’t use a lot of eggs, and I knew my girls were older and had planned on getting a few, but then I lost mine when the raccoons broke in and killed everyone. I know how lucky I am, but I used to provide my sister with a lot of eggs before she got her chickens. :-)

      Reply

  11. Lynette
    Jan 07, 2012 @ 17:50:09

    What kind of chicken is that on the fence? She is beautiful! So glad you have fresh eggs again!! There is nothing like collecting your own eggs is there?

    Reply

  12. Saun in Ohio
    Jan 07, 2012 @ 20:52:23

    Too cool awesome pics.

    Reply

  13. Ms Burrito
    Jan 07, 2012 @ 22:00:56

    Beautiful looking eggs.

    Butterflies. Have a great weekend!

    Reply

  14. Talon
    Jan 07, 2012 @ 23:25:39

    Yay! That’s awesome, Teresa! :) No eggs compare to fresh laid :)

    Reply

  15. kateri
    Jan 08, 2012 @ 12:07:56

    The first eggs are always so exciting! I’ve had two whole young flocks wiped out completely by raccoons–so tragic.

    Reply

    • Teresa
      Jan 08, 2012 @ 12:20:36

      This is really the second time I’ve had devastating losses to raccoons. Usually it was an occasional duck, which is why I keep them penned now also.

      Reply

  16. Mimi Foxmorton
    Jan 10, 2012 @ 08:07:42

    Despite my fear of chickens eggs truly *are* a miracle……… ;)

    Reply

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

Blog Stats

  • 439,953 hits

For the Love of Blogging, Turn it Off

Copyright Notice

Entire Contents © Copyright 2010 - 2014 Eden Hills. Text and photographs may not be published, broadcast, redistributed, re-blogged or aggregated without express permission. Thank you.
Get your own free Blogoversary button!

Disclaimer

The information on this web site is supplied for general reference and educational purposes only. This information does not represent the management practices or thinking of other goat breeders or the veterinary community. I am not a veterinarian, and the information on this site is not intended to replace professional veterinary advice. This information is not intended to diagnose or treat any health problems or illnesses without consulting your veterinarian. I disclaim all liability in connection with the use of this information.
