Starting Wines

It’s been a long time since I started any wines.  We usually do this in the fall, but it’s been crazy busy and we didn’t have a good apple harvest around here.  I’m out of my two favorite wines, though, so my mom dug the last of the apple juice from the freezer.

I dug deep into my freezer and found some cherries that I froze in 2010.  It’s good to get these older frozen fruits and juices used up.  We’re making a double batch of Chapel, a dessert wine made from the apple juice and cherries.

I heated them up enough to thaw things out.

We are doing just a single (gallon) batch of this apple wine called Mirth.

Then we added some acid and tannins and sugar

and lemon juice and put it all in the super fancy primary fermentation vessels.

Of course we add a Campden tablet to keep any natural yeasts floating around from incubating in our wine.  Besides, it’s fun to use the mortar and pestle.

Then I covered the buckets and put them in a nice warm area.

After the two juices sat overnight to prepare a good environment, I added the yeast.

This is why I won’t even apply for a permit to make wine until I have a nice building put up where no animals are allowed.  Bob is so helpful!

Tonight we are transferring the two wines from the bucket to glass carboys.  Then I’ll only have to rack it a couple of times and wait for about six months to have more of my favorite wines.

Linking to Farmgirl Friday.

24 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. TexWisGirl
    Jan 04, 2012 @ 19:08:36

    that last photo cracks me up. :) just wait 6 more months for wine… sigh… :)

    Reply

    • Teresa
      Jan 04, 2012 @ 20:42:42

      I really think I need to plant a lot of apple trees and cherry trees and build better fences around them. :-) Bob is quite the helper!

      Reply

  2. Alica
    Jan 04, 2012 @ 20:51:23

    Bob looks thirsty!

    Reply

  3. Marigold and the Goatmother
    Jan 04, 2012 @ 21:13:34

    So can Claire use this process to do her blueberry wines? Maybe she doesn’t need the ‘bad former owner’s’ notes at all!

    Reply

  4. Talon
    Jan 04, 2012 @ 22:33:14

    You amaze me, Teresa! Is there anything you can’t do? Apple and cherry wine – that will be totally delicious!

    Reply

    • Teresa
      Jan 05, 2012 @ 06:22:28

      It is totally amazing~my favorite! I guess I’m just crazy enough to try anything that comes my way. Most people can do more than they do~they just talk themselves out of trying. :-)

      Reply

  5. JoyceAnn
    Jan 04, 2012 @ 22:37:49

    Um , that does sound delicious , but I would have a hard time being patient for 6 months (LOL).

    Blessings !

    Reply

  6. Candy C.
    Jan 05, 2012 @ 07:01:29

    “super fancy primary fermentation vessels” LOL!!
    Bob was just checking to see if everything smelled right! ;)

    Reply

  7. Nancy
    Jan 05, 2012 @ 07:05:45

    This is an awesome fruit combination — I bet it will taste great! :)

    Reply

  8. WolfSong
    Jan 05, 2012 @ 08:18:41

    Cat hair is a condiment. It goes with everything! Besides, he could be the inspector, making sure it’s safe for human consumption. ;)

    Reply

  9. Jenny Matlock
    Jan 05, 2012 @ 18:19:23

    NONONONO! Say it isn’t so! Those aren’t sour cherries are they? Those need to be made into pies!!!!!

    Okay.

    The wine sounds delicious…

    but…

    ahhhh….warm sour cherry pie with ice cream.

    Oh yum!

    Happy New Year, busy lady!

    Reply

  10. jen
    Jan 06, 2012 @ 09:39:00

    Well… isnt that cool. I’d like to try to make some wine one of these days. I’ve got cherries frozen…

    Reply

    • Teresa
      Jan 06, 2012 @ 09:54:41

      I really need to get a better fence to keep goats out, and then I’ll have a real orchard to make a lot more wine. It is fun and delicious!

      Reply

  11. Kanelstrand
    Jan 07, 2012 @ 14:00:15

    I must admit that this is the first time I see wine made this way! Another confession – I don’t know exactly how it is made but from what I remember from my grandpa – he made wine out of fresh grapes! This looks so inventive to me, though it might be just normal for you. Thank you for widening my horizon today!

    Reply

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

Blog Stats

  • 437,124 hits

For the Love of Blogging, Turn it Off

Copyright Notice

Entire Contents © Copyright 2010 - 2014 Eden Hills. Text and photographs may not be published, broadcast, redistributed, re-blogged or aggregated without express permission. Thank you.
Get your own free Blogoversary button!

Disclaimer

The information on this web site is supplied for general reference and educational purposes only. This information does not represent the management practices or thinking of other goat breeders or the veterinary community. I am not a veterinarian, and the information on this site is not intended to replace professional veterinary advice. This information is not intended to diagnose or treat any health problems or illnesses without consulting your veterinarian. I disclaim all liability in connection with the use of this information.
