Crowing in the New Year

You might recall that I got a batch of new chicks in the beginning of August.  Well, the girls are getting big.

They are very beautiful, and I’m quite happy with them.

It’s just that, well I never knew hens could crow.

Pretty amazing, huh?

This white chochin is one of the few of the chicks that I named.  I named her Dora because she was quite an explorer.

Look at that comb and those wattles.  I think Dora is going to be one of those crowing hens too.

Actually, I saw something today that makes me 100% certain Dora is going to start crowing, but this is a family blog, so I didn’t photograph it.  Here is one of the non-crowing white cochins.

See.  Here are my two beautiful crowing hens!

By the way, I do really know they are roosters.  I’m just living in  denial, and this brings me to the end of my tail.

Except for the Happy New Year’s wishes!

MJ

Linking to SOOC Sunday

Linking to The Homestead Barn Hop

42 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. TexWisGirl
    Dec 31, 2011 @ 18:27:46

    oops! :)

    Reply

  2. Pat
    Dec 31, 2011 @ 18:37:02

    They are, indeed, handsome! MJ looks pretty dashing in that party hat!

    Reply

    • Teresa
      Dec 31, 2011 @ 19:06:52

      It’s not like I really wanted another rooster since Naughty Rooster Boy has just settled down. Hopefully they won’t start fighting.

      Reply

  3. Marigold and the Goatmother
    Dec 31, 2011 @ 19:21:13

    I do love that New Year’s wish at the end! :) Happy New Year!

    Reply

  4. Sharon Qualls
    Dec 31, 2011 @ 19:32:49

    They did grow up pretty, love the fancy legs on the white ones. Very cool looking birds. Oops, 2 crowing hens? Rats!

    Reply

  5. Alica
    Dec 31, 2011 @ 22:31:50

    Happy New Year to you Teresa! Cock-a-doodle-doo! :)

    Reply

  6. Shanda
    Jan 01, 2012 @ 01:59:53

    Cute. Love the one of the chicken face

    Reply

  7. Pondside
    Jan 01, 2012 @ 03:47:48

    A little silliness is SO good!
    I read that some hens will crow and I live in fear that one of ours will take up this unpopular pastime. Our neighbour will surely go bonkers if that happens!

    Reply

  8. Leora
    Jan 01, 2012 @ 04:14:24

    I keep thinking of a song, “my little rooster says cockadoodle do, dee doodle dee doodle dee doodle de do.”

    Love the close up of the face.

    Reply

  9. Bev
    Jan 01, 2012 @ 05:30:56

    What beautiful crowing hens! hee hee. I had a “guaranteed hen” turn into a roo. It’s not fun because by the time you know they are a roo you like them and I didn’t want to send him back to the chicken farm because they’d butcher him. I found a nice pet home for him. He was waaay to rough with the hens here so there wasn’t any way he was staying here.

    Reply

    • Teresa
      Jan 01, 2012 @ 08:26:11

      Of course the only one I’d named was Dora. I might have to find a different explorer like Henry or Magellan to call him. :-) They’ll get to stay here, I just hope they don’t get mean.

      Reply

  10. Mimi Foxmorton
    Jan 01, 2012 @ 06:30:57

    Well…..it’s a new year……and who *doesn’t* love a chicken in feather chaps.
    *snicker*

    MJ breaks my heart…….in a good way!
    I really am enjoying my (not so) wee Lizzie.

    HAPPY NEW YEAR!
    xo

    Reply

  11. Georgia
    Jan 01, 2012 @ 06:39:56

    It looks like you have a lot “crow” about! lol Fun pics! I’m hosting a new photo challenge called Simply Silver Sunday. Hope you will stop by and enter. Please visitSimply Silver
    for details. Thanks! Happy New Year!

    Reply

  12. Ellen Peavey
    Jan 01, 2012 @ 07:22:01

    I had one egg hatch out of three and we had the cutest chick in July, we call him the Little Peeper. Well he is all grown now much bigger then his Mom and he is a rooster and crows every morning with his Dad Big Rhode Island Red. He has become very aggressive but Big Red keeps him in line, have to call him Lakin now no more Little Peeper.

    Reply

    • Teresa
      Jan 01, 2012 @ 08:29:03

      I’m fine with the roosters as long as they don’t get nasty. If so, I’ll have to throw them out of the coop. Good thing you have has dad to keep yours in line.

      Reply

  13. Candy C.
    Jan 01, 2012 @ 13:56:59

    Luckily, I only ended up with one crowing hen out of 10 “guaranteed!” Love the picture of MJ, he’s such a party animal! :)

    Reply

  14. Linda Makiej
    Jan 01, 2012 @ 15:47:35

    so wonderful!!
    Happy New Yer!!

    Reply

  15. jan ellis
    Jan 01, 2012 @ 19:01:20

    Love the close up! I need some chickens!

    Reply

  16. kateri
    Jan 01, 2012 @ 21:36:23

    Gosh, “Dora” is one handsome chicken! “Hens” do sometimes have this unconvient way of turning into roosters, I have found that from personal experience!

    Reply

  17. MamaHen
    Jan 02, 2012 @ 08:39:24

    We actually did have a crowing hen one time. She was def a female because she laid eggs, but every morning she would do her best to crow like the roosters.

    Reply

  18. Mommyof2Girlz/StephD
    Jan 02, 2012 @ 16:48:45

    LOL, love the party cow! Adorable chickens and the macro is stunning! Awesome play by play on the crowing, I never knew hens crowed either…interesting :)

    Reply

    • Teresa
      Jan 02, 2012 @ 18:20:22

      I wasn’t too happy to discover my hens were not going to give me eggs, but as long as they don’t start fighting I can live with it. Glad you liked MJ~he’s too big and old to be much of a party ox anymore.

      Reply

  19. jen
    Jan 02, 2012 @ 17:13:13

    Beautiful Crowing & Non Crowing chickens, lol. MJ is one Beautiful cow… I’ve had a thing for cows forever, I just think they are so pretty. When I got married in 1994 family members gave me kitchen cow stuff… I still have most of it :)

    Reply

    • Teresa
      Jan 02, 2012 @ 18:21:31

      The real thing is much better than decorations! MJ is getting old~he’ll be fifteen in March, but he’s still just a gentle giant.

      Reply

  20. Melissa
    Jan 06, 2012 @ 13:59:21

    I was lucky to have had my hen 100% correctly sexed, all hens, pwef. Our neighbors live really close on one side so, I think we might have complaints over the early morning crowing! Our hens are rowdy enough as it is!

    Reply

    • Teresa
      Jan 06, 2012 @ 16:49:34

      I’m a horrible neighbor because I figure I live in the country. I have a farm. I have animals, and if you don’t like it, you shouldn’t live by a farm. So glad you were lucky. I did see the first signs of a rooster spat today. :-(

      Reply

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

Blog Stats

  • 474,578 hits

For the Love of Blogging, Turn it Off

Copyright Notice

Entire Contents © Copyright 2010 - 2014 Eden Hills. Text and photographs may not be published, broadcast, redistributed, re-blogged or aggregated without express permission. Feel free to contact me to purchase a print or discuss a licensing agreement. Thank you.
Get your own free Blogoversary button!

Disclaimer

The information on this web site is supplied for general reference and educational purposes only. This information does not represent the management practices or thinking of other goat breeders or the veterinary community. I am not a veterinarian, and the information on this site is not intended to replace professional veterinary advice. This information is not intended to diagnose or treat any health problems or illnesses without consulting your veterinarian. I disclaim all liability in connection with the use of this information.
