Meg’s Infected Hoof and Garlic

Poor Meg has been limping off and on for a month now.  I’ve looked and couldn’t see anything several times.  I had my son hold her so I could trim it.  I still didn’t see anything that would explain why she was limping.  I only saw a tiny pinprick spot, but it was not soft or smelly.  Trimming helped a bit for a few days.

Megora Saanen

About a week after the trimming she was limping worse again, so I decided to use a garlic infusion on it to try and treat any hoof rot.  I don’t know how should would get hoof rot as dry as our weather is, but at least it was something.

I put about 1/2 cup of water in a pan and got a head of garlic.

Because this was a small one, I used most of the head.  I peeled the cloves and cut them so the liquid would more easily blend with the water.

I boiled it for just a bit.  It was enough to make the whole house smell for the rest of the day.  After it cooled, I strained it to remove the garlic.

Then it was ready to use.

I just needed to get my patient and check out her foot.  While I was looking at her hoof, I noticed that it was now bright red all between the toes and it had pus at the hairline on the front of the hoof.

Poor girl.  I rinsed it thoroughly with the garlic infusion.

Two days later, I managed to get my son to come hold her again.  It looked better, but she now had a black crusty spot on top.

There was a red raw spot, but it didn’t seem to have the infection.  I rinsed it with the garlic infusion again, and I did give her a shot of antibiotics also because I’m not sure how the garlic would do on an infection that was all through the foot.

It was looking better, but tonight she’s limping again.  I think she’ll have the vet look at it when he’s here on Wednesday.  If you don’t believe in the antibiotic properties of garlic, check out my post from last year on antibiotic garlic.

It’s really powerful stuff.

28 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Alica
    Dec 05, 2011 @ 19:27:07

    Poor Meg :( Hope the vet can help her out. I had never heard of garlic being used as an antibiotic…I learn new things every day! :)

    Reply

    • Teresa
      Dec 05, 2011 @ 19:31:22

      I even convinced my BD students that’s what they wanted to test two years ago for their science bacteria project. It is virtually 100% effective. I’m just afraid this one is internal is why I gave her the shot also. I’m sure the vet will be able to help. I just hope he has time for all my “little” things that need checked out and done.

      Reply

  2. Barbara F.
    Dec 05, 2011 @ 19:39:26

    Teresa, years ago I met a woman who was going for dialysis treatments the same time as my mom was, and she had an infection in her toe and it looked as if it was going to be amputated. She rubbed raw garlic on it, against doctor’s advisement, and you know what? She kept that toe. Powerful stuff indeed. xo

    Reply

  3. TexWisGirl
    Dec 05, 2011 @ 19:40:00

    poor girl! hope she can get better!

    Reply

  4. Melodie
    Dec 05, 2011 @ 19:43:54

    Ouch Meg! I hope she gets all healed up! Yes, that garlic is good stuff!

    Reply

  5. Sandy
    Dec 05, 2011 @ 20:14:26

    I hope Meg’s foot heals fast. Poor thing… no fun having a sore foot.

    Reply

  6. Pondside
    Dec 05, 2011 @ 20:27:09

    Poor Meg – I hope the vet can help you. Garlic really is a useful bulb!

    Reply

  7. Bev
    Dec 06, 2011 @ 05:11:36

    Thanks for that garlic info! I’m sure that will be very helpful at some point! I hope Meg’s foot feels better soon.

    Reply

  8. Candy C.
    Dec 06, 2011 @ 07:06:09

    Garlic is indeed good for infections! Poor Meg, hope the vet can help her.

    Reply

  9. PC PHOTO
    Dec 06, 2011 @ 09:40:10

    Garlic is a good remedy you did good – hoping all is well soon.

    Reply

  10. Mimi Foxmorton
    Dec 06, 2011 @ 10:11:05

    Oh dear. Goats and hoofs are a shaky thing. Seems like no matter what *someone* is limping.

    Darla gets Apple Cider vinegar on her hoofs once a week. SO far we’ve been lucky.

    I’ve been unfortunate enough to smell that hoof rot. A bugger of a goat affliction.

    Hope wee Meg clears up soon!

    Reply

    • Teresa
      Dec 06, 2011 @ 10:54:57

      I’ve only had hoof rot a couple of times when it was horribly wet muddy conditions. I just don’t know what Meg’s problem is or how she would have gotten it. I can see me trying to apple cider vinegar 200 hooves! I’m sure it does work well.

      Reply

  11. Talon
    Dec 06, 2011 @ 13:12:24

    Truly amazing, Teresa! Holistic medicine at its best. I hope Meg’s sound as anything very very soon!

    Reply

  12. Marigold and the Goatmother
    Dec 06, 2011 @ 16:25:10

    I’ve read in the Civil War it was the only antibiotic they had. It’s a great anti-fungal too!

    Reply

  13. farmer
    Dec 07, 2011 @ 07:26:12

    To me it looks like a abscess that did break and start to drain.
    She is probably in quite a bit of pain,I know my horse who had them for over a year every 6 weeks would need Bute to relieve the pain.
    Try soaking her foot in warm water and Epsom salts 4-5 times a day,it will help draw out the abscess.
    I would call your vet like you say,it can create a whole other problem untreated.
    Good luck!
    Happy healing Meg :)

    Reply

  14. Trackback: Barnyard Updates « Eden Hills's Blog
  15. Trackback: Hidden Hoof Rot « Eden Hills's Blog

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

Blog Stats

  • 452,105 hits

For the Love of Blogging, Turn it Off

Copyright Notice

Entire Contents © Copyright 2010 - 2014 Eden Hills. Text and photographs may not be published, broadcast, redistributed, re-blogged or aggregated without express permission. Thank you.
Get your own free Blogoversary button!

Disclaimer

The information on this web site is supplied for general reference and educational purposes only. This information does not represent the management practices or thinking of other goat breeders or the veterinary community. I am not a veterinarian, and the information on this site is not intended to replace professional veterinary advice. This information is not intended to diagnose or treat any health problems or illnesses without consulting your veterinarian. I disclaim all liability in connection with the use of this information.
