Making a Christmas Card Box

My mother is always collecting great crafty ideas for the local 4-H club.  I really liked this one that she got from her sister.

Find a Christmas card to use.  The bigger the card, the bigger the finished box will be.  The ones I used were five inches wide, and the finished box is right at one and three-fourths inches.

Once you get your card, tear it on the fold.  You can try cutting it if you are really talented, but it was a lot easier for Mom and me to just tear down the crease.

Next you need to make the card into a square shape.  Measure the width, and cut the extra length off.  Like I said, my card was five inches wide, so after cutting the long side, it was also five inches.

When you cut the back side, you want to take 1/4 inch off the width and cut the length 1/4 inch shorter than the front also.  If you are using a really heavy paper, you might want to make it 3/8 inch smaller so the lid will fit easier.

Once you have both parts of the card square, draw a line making an x.  You will use these marks as a folding guide.

Start with one point and fold it to the center where your lines cross.

Then you fold the same side up to the line.  Make sure to crease your folds well, and then you can unfold it.

Repeat this process with all four points.

You’ll have a whole bunch of fold lines after you’ve gone all the way around.

Repeat this process with the other square.

Pick a side and cut from the first fold line to the third fold line on each side of the point.

Make the same cuts on the opposite side.

Again, you’ll do this with both pieces of the card.

On one side that was not cut, refold it.  This is one side of the box.  Bend in the flaps from where you cut the card.

Do the same thing with the other side.  You’ll see the points will meet in the center where your lines cross.

You should be able to see how the box is going to look now.

All you have to do is fold the shorter end over the flaps.

Fold the other short side over the flaps, and your lid is finished.

You still have to make the bottom part of the box.  You’ll repeat the process of folding the sides and bending the flaps in and folding the short side over the flaps.

Now you have both parts completed.  All that’s left is putting the lid on the box.

I’ve heard so many great ideas for what to use them for~putting a thread through it to hang from the tree, jewelry,and even peanuts.  The local 4-H club is going to put some candy in the boxes and deliver them to a nearby nursing home.

Linking to Homestead Barn Hop.

Linking to Handmade Gifts From the Heart Blog Hop.

29 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Country Jane
    Dec 04, 2011 @ 17:28:52

    Christmas greetings, Teresa! Thank you so much for this, I made these when I was a teenager with left over wall paper and I couldn’t remember how to make them. I’m a junkie for boxes, bags and baskets. I’ll have to make these with the kids, what a hoot!

    Reply

  2. TexWisGirl
    Dec 04, 2011 @ 17:47:54

    it is a bit hard to follow, but i think it’s one of those things you have to have in front of you and in your hands as you go to ‘see’ it develop. :)

    Reply

    • Teresa
      Dec 04, 2011 @ 18:09:22

      It was really hard to try and put words to it. I do think getting a card (or just a square of paper) and trying it is probably the best way to do it.

      Reply

  3. kateri
    Dec 04, 2011 @ 18:05:50

    They are adorable! I’m going to try making them when I get home.

    Reply

  4. Candy C.
    Dec 04, 2011 @ 18:36:24

    Very nice, using the fancy cards really makes them special! I think when people sit down and follow the pictures, all will be made clear. Thanks for sharing such a cute project! :)

    Reply

    • Teresa
      Dec 04, 2011 @ 18:52:16

      I think it would be best to try it as you go through the post rather than reading and then trying it. It’s a very simple project, but explaining it was really hard.

      Reply

  5. mysimplecountryliving (Heidi)
    Dec 04, 2011 @ 19:38:51

    What an awesome little gift box you end up with Teresa. I really appreciated your fantastic tutorial too. I will be making some small beaded jewelry for my nieces this year and I know these little boxes will be perfect containers. Thank you for sharing and for linking up to the From the Heart Handmade Gift Blog Hop.

    Reply

  6. Talon
    Dec 04, 2011 @ 20:12:40

    Teresa, thank you SO much for taking the time to post all the instructions and the photos. My daughter and I are going to try making these next week. I think it’s a great way to recycle old cards and make them special again.

    Reply

    • Teresa
      Dec 04, 2011 @ 20:26:53

      I hope my directions are clear enough. It really was fun doing this with mom, and I’m sure your daughter will enjoy doing this with you. :-)

      Reply

  7. Marigold and the Goatmother
    Dec 04, 2011 @ 20:44:47

    So cool! Like Christmas origami!

    Reply

  8. Melodie
    Dec 04, 2011 @ 20:59:43

    That is just nifty! I am going to book mark this page so I can try it later!

    Reply

  9. Kelly
    Dec 05, 2011 @ 14:08:10

    Oh thank you for these instructions. I bought a couple 2-packs of little boxes at the Dollar General for $1-$2 and they were still too big for the jewelry I had to wrap.

    Reply

  10. PC PHOTO
    Dec 05, 2011 @ 14:22:57

    Thank you for the tutorial, looks complicated for my abilities but want to give this a try!

    Reply

  11. Pondside
    Dec 05, 2011 @ 20:26:08

    I think I can follow your tutorial – it’s very clear. Great idea!

    Reply

  12. Alica
    Dec 06, 2011 @ 09:50:26

    I didn’t get a chance to look at this closely yet, but I’m hoping to try this when I have a chance! I think Jenna will enjoy it too.

    Reply

  13. Trackback: Gift Boxes « doublebhomestead
  14. Mimi Foxmorton
    Dec 07, 2011 @ 08:57:38

    Beauteous!!!!!!!!

    Reply

  15. Trackback: Scavenger Hunt Sunday « Photography by Teresa
  16. Trackback: Something I Did This Week « Eden Hills's Blog

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

Blog Stats

  • 474,126 hits

For the Love of Blogging, Turn it Off

Copyright Notice

Entire Contents © Copyright 2010 - 2014 Eden Hills. Text and photographs may not be published, broadcast, redistributed, re-blogged or aggregated without express permission. Feel free to contact me to purchase a print or discuss a licensing agreement. Thank you.
Get your own free Blogoversary button!

Disclaimer

The information on this web site is supplied for general reference and educational purposes only. This information does not represent the management practices or thinking of other goat breeders or the veterinary community. I am not a veterinarian, and the information on this site is not intended to replace professional veterinary advice. This information is not intended to diagnose or treat any health problems or illnesses without consulting your veterinarian. I disclaim all liability in connection with the use of this information.
