Archive | 6:53 pm

When the Wind Blows

29 Nov

Right now, it’s a pretty good bet that when we have a nice steady breeze, I’ll be outside cleaning the popcorn.  I’m sure you’re tired of hearing about how I’m always husking and shelling and cleaning and bagging popcorn.  But that’s what I am spending a lot of time doing right now.  Mom too.

Back and forth, I let the wind do the work of cleaning the silks and dust from the popcorn.  Back and forth several times.  Back and forth until it is cleaned.  Then it gets brought back in.  I’m a bit behind on bagging the popcorn.  This is just a tiny bit of what we’ve cleaned.

But rest assured, Mom estimated that she’s picked about half of what is in the field.  Does that make me horrible when my seventy-year-old mother is the one hand picking the corn?

Just because…here’s the very last little mallow flower that has managed to escape the cold so far.  The rest of the plant has died, but this one blossom is still beautiful.

Linking to Wordless Wednesday.