Making Your Own Lip Balm

This time of year my lips are always getting dried out because of the cold dry weather.  It’s also the time of year I start wondering what on earth to do for Christmas gifts.  Making lip balm is a great solution to both of those problems! For the most basic lip balm you really only need two ingredients: beeswax and some kind of oil.  I use just my corn oil that I use for baking.

I like to add some honey to my lip balm because it gives it a bit of a sweet flavor.

There’s no need to add flavoring to this recipe, but you can if you want something more exotic than just honey.

Melt the wax and oil together in a double boiler.  I used 1/2 ounce of beeswax and a scant 2/3 cup of oil.  When it’s melted, turn the heat off.  You can remove it from the double boiler also.  Once the wax has melted, add 1 Tablespoon and 1 teaspoon of honey.

You’ll notice the honey just sitting on the bottom of the pan.  It will never stay mixed with the melted oil/wax mixture.

Keep stirring to make sure your honey is distributed throughout the lip balm.  This is the time to add a flavor if you want.  Be careful if you are using essential oils because some can be harsh and dry lips even more.  You can also add a bit of lipstick and let it melt if you want to have a colored lip balm.  Of course, I think that kind of defeats the point of making your own.

When it begins to get white and thick, it’s time to put it into containers.  I ordered the little tube containers because that’s what I like the best.  You can use any small container that you have.

If you are using a small jar, just fill it up.  If you are using the tube, you’ll want to pour the lip balm down one side.  Work quickly because when it hits the cool plastic, it will solidify quickly.  If you get air bubbles, you can tap the bottom of the tube on the counter to work the bubble to the top.

Make sure you keep stirring when you fill your spoon.  If it cool so much that you can’t pour it anymore, just set it back over the double boiler and let it melt a bit.  It does take a bit of practice to be able to fill those tubes with any kind of grace, and I’m obviously out of practice!

After they were cooled and solid, I had to clean the tubes off before I put the caps on them.

This is my adaptation of the recipe from Betty Oppenheimer’s book Gifts for Herb Lovers.  This recipe makes 37 tubes.  If you don’t want that much, it’s easy to cut in half (1/4 ounce beeswax; 5 Tablespoons of oil; 2 teaspoons honey).  I just need to add some labels, and they are ready to go!  I think I’m ready for winter, and I’ve gotten a start of my gifts.

There’s still time to enter my giveaway for a 2012 Eden Hills Calendar.  Click HERE and leave a comment before midnight Monday.

I am linking this to Homestead Barn Hop.

41 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Alica
    Nov 20, 2011 @ 18:33:09

    I was very intrigued when I saw all those little lip balm tubes on yesterday’s post…doesn’t look nearly as difficult as I thought it would be! :) I’ve been hearing about coconut oil, and how good that is for your lips….I’ll put this on my LONG “to do” list!

    Reply

  2. Candy C.
    Nov 20, 2011 @ 20:01:02

    Gosh, I haven’t made lip balm in years! Thanks for the reminder of just how easy it really is! :)

    Reply

  3. Tammy
    Nov 20, 2011 @ 22:09:09

    Teresa… thank you so much!! This post seriously excites me to no end. For the first time ever, we have our own beeswax, waiting to be cleaned a bit (in the deep freeze). And our own honey. How perfect these would be for gifts for friends, family, co-workers! I really didn’t know they were so easy to make, and I certainly popped over here at the right time ;) Thanks again! off to find those li’l tubes…

    Reply

    • Teresa
      Nov 20, 2011 @ 22:36:47

      So glad you were inspired by your visit! You can get the tubes at Michaels or Hobby Lobby or on-line at any soap/craft site. Have fun!

      Reply

  4. Vaish
    Nov 20, 2011 @ 22:52:47

    I never thought of making lip balms, now am very much tempted to tryout! TQ for the recipe:)

    Reply

  5. kateri
    Nov 21, 2011 @ 05:10:17

    I haven’t made that for a while either…I think it is time for me to get out the beeswax and make some…

    Reply

  6. Pam
    Nov 21, 2011 @ 05:36:14

    Anyone receiving these as gifts would be so lucky! I love a useful, handmade gift!

    Reply

  7. jen
    Nov 21, 2011 @ 05:55:12

    Thanks for sharing… this is really cool.

    Reply

  8. schoonoverfarm
    Nov 21, 2011 @ 09:08:40

    That is really cool! Thanks fro sharing. Now I need to make some lip balm.

    Reply

  9. Texan
    Nov 21, 2011 @ 09:54:55

    I would like to try this, I have tubes of lip balm all over the place year around. My ilps just seem to stay dry! Thanks for doing the how to post :O)…

    Reply

  10. danielle
    Nov 21, 2011 @ 10:20:00

    great idea thanks for sharing

    everyone please check out this new site for free stuff its really cool

    http://www.listia.com/signup/987916

    Reply

  11. danielle
    Nov 21, 2011 @ 10:21:03

    as well how do i change my pic on here LOL

    Reply

  12. Marigold and the Goatmother
    Nov 21, 2011 @ 10:27:09

    It is important to keep one’s lips moist because those Peanut shells can just be so drying.

    Reply

  13. danielle
    Nov 21, 2011 @ 11:59:25

    where do you get your tubes teresa?

    Reply

  14. danielle
    Nov 21, 2011 @ 12:00:40

    whohooo got the gravatar of my favorite goatie now

    Reply

  15. Jacinda @ Growing Home
    Nov 21, 2011 @ 13:03:20

    Thanks for the tutorial! I found it through the Barn Hop just in time-I was planning on making some homemade skin care products to giveaway as gifts for Christmas today! Do you know where I could find tubes similar to the ones you used? Thanks!

    Reply

    • Teresa
      Nov 21, 2011 @ 13:06:50

      Glad you stopped by. You can get them from most hobby stores (Michael’s or Hobby Lobby) or most on-line soap stores. I got mine from brambleberry.com

      Reply

  16. EG Wow, Canada
    Nov 21, 2011 @ 14:47:31

    I really like the idea of homemade lip balm. That way you know exactly what you are putting on your lips!

    Reply

  17. Kelly
    Nov 21, 2011 @ 19:00:08

    Thank you for showing us how to do this. I am definitely trying it when I find some bees wax. I don’t have my own (yet) so will have to figure out where to find some around here.

    Reply

    • Teresa
      Nov 21, 2011 @ 19:13:46

      I don’t have bees either. I bought mine from Hobby Lobby. My sister’s boyfriend is talking about getting some bees, so I’m hoping I might get some from him at some point in the future.

      Reply

  18. Jen C.
    Nov 22, 2011 @ 06:04:57

    I think it’s so cool that you make your own lip balm. The steps to make it seems simple enough too! Too bad we don’t use lip balm or I’d try some of the ones you make especially since you put honey in them :)

    Reply

  19. Mimi Foxmorton
    Nov 22, 2011 @ 07:57:30

    Yum-yum. Smack-smack! :)

    Reply

  20. Trackback: I Did It! « Venison for Dinner

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

Blog Stats

  • 438,229 hits

For the Love of Blogging, Turn it Off

Copyright Notice

Entire Contents © Copyright 2010 - 2014 Eden Hills. Text and photographs may not be published, broadcast, redistributed, re-blogged or aggregated without express permission. Thank you.
Get your own free Blogoversary button!

Disclaimer

The information on this web site is supplied for general reference and educational purposes only. This information does not represent the management practices or thinking of other goat breeders or the veterinary community. I am not a veterinarian, and the information on this site is not intended to replace professional veterinary advice. This information is not intended to diagnose or treat any health problems or illnesses without consulting your veterinarian. I disclaim all liability in connection with the use of this information.
