Goat Physical Therapy

I think the vet made a good diagnosis with Oreo.  He thought it was a vitamin/mineral deficiency.  She’s been getting thiamine (goat polio) and vitamin E daily.  He also gave her selenium.  She’s actually looking a bit more perky.

Oreo

The problem is that she has no muscle mass.  Try giving those intramuscular shots on a goat this emaciated.  It’s not easy.  She’s eating well.  I’m giving her nutri-drench to provide calories and nutrients.  She’s getting Gatorade to drink.  Mom cut her some green grass to go with her goat chow, corn and hay.  It’s time to start physical therapy so she can walk again.

For someone little like Oreo, this is my instrument of torture.  I used the flannel sheet to make a sling.  I tied it with twine to keep the sling from slipping.  Then I just had to slip the goat in.

At first, it was too low to the ground, so I took her out and raised it.  That’s perfect!

Her back legs are standing pretty good.  She does have a little bit of strength left in them.  The front ones she just wants to drop to her knees.  I kept straightening them until she realized she was really going to be hanging if she tried getting on her knees.

Notice the sheet covers her entire belly.  That way it supports evenly and doesn’t put undue weight on her lungs or belly.

I was impressed with how long she actually “stood” there before she just had to lay down.  Of course, having lots of green grass in front of her was a good incentive.

Please note that I was with Oreo the entire time she was in the sling.  Do not ever leave a goat in a sling unattended.  It is way too dangerous.

The first time I had to do physical therapy on a goat that was down and couldn’t walk was my big buck Grover.  That was a bit more challenging, but it was the same principle.  I tried throwing him over a bale of hay, but he gained enough strength to push with his back legs and end up laying sideways on his face.  I’d have to rescue him (that was his goal~getting me to come back).  Finally I had to get creative and created a method to hang him.

Grover

It worked!  As a bonus, when he was laying I could get the belts (XXX Large from Wal-Mart) under him and use it to stand him up and then support him while he was re-learning to walk.  First a few steps and then around the edge of the pen.  It’s a long process, but it is worth it.  Again, NEVER leave a goat unattended like this.

Grover made a full recovery, and I’m actually starting to be optimistic that with continued extra care and physical therapy Oreo will be able to completely recover too.

Linking this to Farm Photo Friday~are you really on a farm before you’ve had livestock in your kitchen?

39 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Barbara F.
    Oct 21, 2011 @ 20:32:40

    You are such a good goat mom! Praying for little Oreo! xo

    Reply

    • Teresa
      Oct 21, 2011 @ 20:51:42

      I’m not so sure. If I were that good of a goat mom, she probably wouldn’t have gotten so sick before I figured it out. Thank you so much for your prayers.

      Reply

  2. Anne
    Oct 21, 2011 @ 21:52:51

    Looks lovely in your kitchen. You do such a nice job with all you amazing animals. Figuring out what is wrong with our non-talking furry or feathered friends is a never ending job. I admire you for wanting and finding the time to treat her instead of just saying it’s too big of a job. My thoughts of healing and peace go to both of you. I love following your blog as it’s sent almost every day. I had to send this one to my daughter at Truman State. I want all my children to have compassion such as yours!

    Reply

    • Teresa
      Oct 21, 2011 @ 22:14:50

      That is such a nice comment. I’m not sure I’m always successful, but I do try to make sure my animals get the care I would want for my human family. Thanks so much for following.

      Reply

  3. Pondside
    Oct 21, 2011 @ 23:08:35

    Fingers crossed for little Oreo!

    Reply

  4. Bev
    Oct 22, 2011 @ 07:19:50

    Oreo is so adorable! This makes me realize that I had it VERY easy with Gimli when he became ill! I’ll have to give my veterinarian this link so he has the information for a sling if one of his clients has a goat that needs one. I have the feeling that if they can’t get up on their own he does recommend euth. Maybe if this was an option for the clients with goats they valued highly he could offer it to them. I’m sure many would do it if they knew about it.

    Reply

    • Teresa
      Oct 22, 2011 @ 07:22:24

      It really is a lot of work. Hoegger’s actually sells a sling for several hundred dollars, but this works. It’s hard for me to work with Oreo as much as I need to because I’m at work. Grover was doing PT just as I was done teaching for the summer, and I could spend way more time with him.

      Reply

  5. Nancy
    Oct 22, 2011 @ 08:08:47

    Poor little Oreo! I do hope she starts getting better. Having ill animals is always a worry.

    Reply

    • Teresa
      Oct 22, 2011 @ 08:17:27

      She is actually showing improvement. She stood in the sling for 20 minutes this morning before she got tired, and she’s eating like crazy.

      Reply

  6. TexWisGirl
    Oct 22, 2011 @ 08:20:09

    oh, that little one! glad she’s doing better! i hope she continues to cooperate with the sling and get stronger!

    Reply

  7. Candy C.
    Oct 22, 2011 @ 09:58:09

    Her healthy appetite is a good sign! With all your intervention I’m sure she will be okay! :)

    Reply

  8. Michelle | Goat Berries
    Oct 22, 2011 @ 11:47:03

    Lots of goatie love and healing thoughts coming from Pasqualina, Pinta, and me!

    Reply

  9. Alica
    Oct 22, 2011 @ 13:26:28

    Bless her little heart…I hope she continues to be a fighter, and improves every day! I saw she’s a Boer cross…thought she looked familiar! :)

    Reply

  10. Stacia
    Oct 22, 2011 @ 15:31:26

    Poor, sweet Oreo! We’re sending her healing thoughts and virtual grass nibbles!

    Reply

  11. Sharon Qualls
    Oct 22, 2011 @ 16:50:46

    Sorry for Oreo, I hope your method works quickly for her!

    Reply

  12. EG Wow, Canada
    Oct 22, 2011 @ 19:33:44

    Oreo is so lucky to have you! What a lot of work but it will be so worth it when Oreo has recovered.

    Reply

  13. jen
    Oct 22, 2011 @ 20:35:15

    Glad Oreo is doin alittle better… hope she keeps doin so.

    Reply

  14. estherjoy
    Oct 23, 2011 @ 21:19:57

    Having a physical therapist and an occupational therapist in my family, I had to check out your goat PT. I am so impressed and hope your little goat is doing better daily!

    Reply

  15. Jen C.
    Oct 24, 2011 @ 00:47:43

    Glad to see that Oreo is showing signs of improvement! You take such great care for your goats and you have so much patience with them. You are amazing! Seeing goat physical therapy has been interesting too :)

    Reply

  16. Mimi Foxmorton
    Oct 24, 2011 @ 12:26:39

    You are most definitely the Miracle Worker……….

    all my love………
    ~Mimi

    Reply

  17. Ashley Ann
    Mar 23, 2012 @ 14:14:50

    I’m actually going through something similar with a little boer doe..I was wondering if you had luck with Oreo..sometimes we all need al ittle encouragement from someone whose been through..or going throught the same thing :) God bless, Ashley

    Reply

    • Teresa
      Mar 23, 2012 @ 15:42:04

      Oreo did not make it, but she was run down and sick for a long time before the polio. Depending on the cause of the problem, I’ve seen goats recover from illnesses that I never thought they could. Good luck to you and your little doe. Blessings.

      Reply

  18. Ashley Ann
    Mar 24, 2012 @ 15:54:56

    I’m sorry for your loss :( A “friend” asked us to take care of Sunshine..aka Sunny..after her dam got trampled by getting in to the next pasture with cows. She was about a month old then and is alot more healthy that she was starting out :) My Dad and I made a stool, I guess you’d call it. We rotate her from it to a soft bed all during the day and she sleeps next to my bed at night. I’m going to add in your idea with the sheet and the saw horse. Thank you for sharing it. When your at your wits end its nice to see a light at the end of the tunnel. The Lord has blessed us with Sunny and we’re doing our best with His help :) Thank you again and His blessings to you too! :)

    Reply

  19. Marion
    Aug 11, 2012 @ 23:14:53

    I would like to have your input I am getting desperate. We rescues a flock of angora goats in December . They where underweight ,wormy, had lice and all had infected and puss feet. Broken horns and VERY scared. In May we finally got to the point they where healthy again. Then two gave birth. The babies and mothers are doing great. However 7 weeks ago disaster hit again. Two of the goats got sick and went down. I treated them with everything me and our vet could,think of ( I am a certified herbalist) and the goats are doing great. So far we still don’t know what they got. We did bloodtest and the vet is looking at a mistery illness too.
    The status right now is, they eat and drink good, overall they look content, no fever.BUT they still can’t get up.
    My chiropractor came by to look at them and he confirmed my fear, meningitis and now nerve damage in the spine. He still thinks there is hope, but they have been down for a long time now. I am going to make a sling tomorrow, but to be honest I am not sure I am doing the, a favor keeping them. On the other hand they are still too,good,to be put down.
    Is there anybody who have had a goat down for so,long and got him back up again?
    Thank you for reading.
    marion KY

    Reply

    • Teresa
      Aug 11, 2012 @ 23:37:13

      If you mean the meningeal worm, it is highly unlikely they will recover if it isn’t treated right away. The nerve damage tends to be permanent. However, I don’t know the animals like you do. Has the vet given you the meds to treat the meningeal worm?

      Reply

  20. Kathy Gauthier
    Mar 17, 2013 @ 22:24:15

    We have nursed a 2 year goat back from deaths door. We dewormed her and she was very anemic and weak, Vitamin B12 injections, iron injections, Magic and formula and she has gotten her full strength back. She is now eating hay and grain again and is ver alert and seems good to go except cannot stand on her front legs. She does ok with full weight on the back legs. We made the sling like you showed but she seems very content being supported by the sling and not making an effort to stand on the front. We hang a hay bag, put food in front of her. We even wrapped her front legs with horse wrap to keep them straight but she is not making an effort. We are looking for ideas. Are we just not being patient? Should we lift her back legs off the ground so she is forced to bear weight? Should we make a splint for the front legs like a hard mold so they are forced to be straight. Help, not sure what to do.

    Reply

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

Blog Stats

  • 460,186 hits

For the Love of Blogging, Turn it Off

Copyright Notice

Entire Contents © Copyright 2010 - 2014 Eden Hills. Text and photographs may not be published, broadcast, redistributed, re-blogged or aggregated without express permission. Thank you.
Get your own free Blogoversary button!

Disclaimer

The information on this web site is supplied for general reference and educational purposes only. This information does not represent the management practices or thinking of other goat breeders or the veterinary community. I am not a veterinarian, and the information on this site is not intended to replace professional veterinary advice. This information is not intended to diagnose or treat any health problems or illnesses without consulting your veterinarian. I disclaim all liability in connection with the use of this information.
