Some Tough Choices

We’ve reached the time of year that I have to make some tough choices.  I have to decide which kids from this year get sold and which ones get to stay.  I have two more boys to sell, and then I’ll start on the girls, so I really have to make my choices soon.  It’s just so hard because they all have great qualities.

Here they are, the girls of 2011:

Bonnie and Blaze

Bonnie and Blaze were the first two born this year.  They are Kizzy’s twins, and they are big and nice looking.  Blaze is sweet, and Bonnie won’t let me touch her, but she is calming down.  Blaze is certainly a keeper, and Bonnie is a maybe.

Cinnamon

Cinnamon was born later in the same day as Kizzy’s girls.  She is one of Pebbles’s triplets and my bottle baby.  There’s never been a doubt she’d live out her days here.

Raven

Raven is the one I call forgettable.  Really, I can forget she’s here because she’s quiet, stays to herself, and won’t let me touch her.  On the rare occasion I decide I need to catch her and check her over, I usually end up with bruises.  She’s definitely not going to stay.

Tayet and Scout

Tayet and Scout are Pam’s twins, and I promised Pam she could keep a daughter.  I planned on Tayet, named after a fellow blogger, staying here.  When Pam was so sick, the girls were loaned out.  When they returned, Pam refused to believe they were her girls.  Nobody else accepted them.  They are looking good, but I’m afraid they wouldn’t get enough to eat this winter without a mom to help them.  They will not be staying.

Harley and Haley

Harley and Haley are two of Stormy’s triplets.  I had also promised her she could keep a daughter.  I’ve gone back and forth on which one I would keep.  I settled on Haley because Harley wasn’t tame and she was too stubborn to take a bottle and then was sick and pathetic.  Now, Harley looks awesome, and she lets me dress her in Halloween costumes.  They’ll both be staying.

Cookie

Scarlet’s triplets are still all here.  Unfortunately, this summer’s heat and raising triplets was really hard on Scarlet, and that means it was really hard on her kids.  For a while, I wasn’t sure any of them would live.  She couldn’t keep up with feeding them, and they all refused supplemental bottles.  They were thin and run down and then picked up worms.  Casey was very ill, but he’s started doing better in the last couple of weeks.  I’m optimistic he’ll live and eventually go off to find his own forever farm.  Cookie, above, has also really picked up weight and looked much better in the last couple of weeks.  She’ll be fine and get to find another farm.  I still don’t know about Oreo.  Right now, she’s sick again.  She’ll either do better and eventually find a forever farm or she’ll be buried here.

Winnie

Winnie is one of Maggie’s twins.  She’s a Jack baby, so I won’t keep her.  She is awfully sweet though.

Isobelle

Vixen’s daughter was named Isobelle after Isobelle Golightly.  I planned on keeping her because she was a nice looking big girl.  Then her dad’s genetics came into question and I debated.  Of course, I can’t touch her, little snot, so she’s not going to stay.

Clover

Clover is one of Pistol’s twins.  She and her sister are so stinking cute and sweet.  If only they weren’t Flash babies (and Jack grandbabies).  I love them so much though.

Coral

Coral is even cuter than her sister.  She’s also sweeter.  There’s no doubt Coral is staying, and I’m almost sure Clover is too.

Macey

Macey is a nice looking big girl.  Her mom is one of my milking does.  I can’t touch her though, so I’m pretty sure she isn’t staying.

Darla

Darla is Macey’s twin sister.  She used to be nice until I caught her and gave her wormer.  Now I can’t touch her.  She’s even bigger and nicer looking than Macey.  I just don’t like having goats I can’t touch and love and play with.  What fun is that.  Hopefully she’ll mellow out; otherwise, she isn’t probably going to stay.

Ella

Ella  is another girl I can’t touch.  She’s also a Jack baby.  Ella will be leaving the farm.

Victoria

Victoria is big and sweet.  She’s a Flash and Vinnie baby.  I’m thinking she’ll be staying.

Jelly

Jelly is the last baby to be born this year.  Unfortunately she’s a Jack baby that just doesn’t seem to do well.  She’s struggled with worms and diarrhea and isn’t growing.  I keep trying to get her healthy, but I don’t know what else to try.  If she makes it, she’ll find a new home.

Of course, any and all of these decisions might change at any moment.

Linking to SOOC Sunday.

Linking to Camera Critters.

Linking to Weekend Reflections.

34 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. TexWisGirl
    Oct 15, 2011 @ 18:06:17

    this has got to be one of the toughest aspects of raising livestock. i don’t know if i could do it.

    Reply

    • Teresa
      Oct 15, 2011 @ 18:11:06

      It really is the hardest part. I sometimes debate on whether or not I even want to have kids, but I love them so much. Look at all that cuteness!

      Reply

  2. Sharon Qualls
    Oct 15, 2011 @ 19:14:48

    Such a hard thing to do, but you do have valid reasons for keeping or selling and that probably helps you out quite a bit. Some really pretty goats!

    Reply

  3. Sandy
    Oct 15, 2011 @ 19:26:19

    Oh gosh tough, tough calls. I hate this part of raising goats!

    Reply

  4. Rose
    Oct 15, 2011 @ 19:56:13

    Beautifully captured!

    My Critter, please come and see.

    Reply

  5. Alica
    Oct 15, 2011 @ 20:21:58

    Those have got to be some tough decisions! When I saw the picture of Cinnamon, I just know you’d keep her…I just love it!

    Reply

    • Teresa
      Oct 16, 2011 @ 02:20:18

      She’s my baby. It’s really hard to say good-bye to a bottle kid. That’s why I still have Fionn, and I don’t know what I’m going to do with him.

      Reply

  6. Christina, Sweden
    Oct 16, 2011 @ 03:59:49

    Lots of great personalitys, I understand that it’s a hard choice.
    Photoways I love the on eof Cinnamon

    Have a great Sunday

    Reply

  7. Bev
    Oct 16, 2011 @ 04:30:49

    What a decision! It’s hard to be a responsible livestock keeper!

    Reply

  8. Chai Chai
    Oct 16, 2011 @ 05:47:30

    I agree with you that goats that one can’t touch or play with aren’t much fun to have around. Seems that friendliness is a self selecting trait.

    Reply

    • Teresa
      Oct 16, 2011 @ 09:18:02

      I’ve never figured out what makes them friendly or not. I always try to make them friendly, but there are some that just don’t want attention.

      Reply

  9. eileeninmd
    Oct 16, 2011 @ 07:33:10

    Oh Wow, they are all so darn cute. I would have a hard time letting any of them go. Wonderful and cute series of photos. Thanks for sharing your critters, I hope you have a happy Sunday!

    Reply

  10. Roan
    Oct 16, 2011 @ 08:24:34

    I can’t imagine how hard it is to choose which ones go and which ones stay. They are all cute!

    Reply

  11. Pondside
    Oct 16, 2011 @ 09:45:34

    Tough decisions, indeed. You seem to have a process – a pretty fair one – of elimination, though.

    Reply

  12. John @ http://hwyfly.blogspot.com/
    Oct 16, 2011 @ 13:51:06

    For me, attaching names to each just made the choice all that more difficult.

    Reply

  13. Candy C.
    Oct 16, 2011 @ 17:22:27

    You are right, no fun having a goat you can’t love on. Abigail has started to be standoffish recently but her mom did the same thing at about 18 months. After having babies she was fine and is such a good girl so I’m hoping Abby will come around too.

    Reply

    • Teresa
      Oct 16, 2011 @ 17:27:05

      Some of them really do seem to mellow once they have babies, but I hate not being able to handle them in case they need help. I have a couple yearlings that having kids hasn’t really helped much.

      Reply

  14. Nancy
    Oct 16, 2011 @ 17:24:54

    Not being able to handle and check your goats closely would certainly be a problem. They are all so cute. :)

    Reply

    • Teresa
      Oct 16, 2011 @ 17:27:56

      I’ve never figured out what makes some friendly and people focused while others act like you are a masked axe murderer coming towards them.

      Reply

  15. jen
    Oct 21, 2011 @ 08:59:42

    WoW… theres so many of them! All so pretty. I love your stories behind everyone of em, I do see how you keep up with em all.

    Reply

  16. Jen C.
    Oct 24, 2011 @ 00:37:18

    Wow, I can’t even begin to imagine what it must be like to be in your shoes. It must be really hard having to make decisions like these especially because you helped deliver and raise a lot of these beautiful goats these past few months. It’s almost like watching a child go off to somewhere far away and never hearing from them again. It’s also very sad that so many of them have to leave because of their genetics and their relationship to Jack. It must be tough to let so many of them go…

    Reply

    • Teresa
      Oct 24, 2011 @ 07:41:46

      It is hard. I know when I put the boys and girls together that there will be more that have to leave than get to stay. I want to milk, and I love the babies being around, so that’s the other side of it.

      Reply

  17. Mimi Foxmorton
    Oct 24, 2011 @ 12:18:03

    So far, Victoria is my favorite! :)

    But, oh….how I love those sweet bellies! ;)

    (Darla is a wee bugger, eh?) lol

    Reply

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

Blog Stats

  • 461,020 hits

For the Love of Blogging, Turn it Off

Copyright Notice

Entire Contents © Copyright 2010 - 2014 Eden Hills. Text and photographs may not be published, broadcast, redistributed, re-blogged or aggregated without express permission. Thank you.
Get your own free Blogoversary button!

Disclaimer

The information on this web site is supplied for general reference and educational purposes only. This information does not represent the management practices or thinking of other goat breeders or the veterinary community. I am not a veterinarian, and the information on this site is not intended to replace professional veterinary advice. This information is not intended to diagnose or treat any health problems or illnesses without consulting your veterinarian. I disclaim all liability in connection with the use of this information.
