Resiliency

Sometimes I wonder what it is that makes one person able to withstand a diversity and come through the ordeal not just okay, but stronger while another person with the same situation is completely broken.  I think sometimes people simply get an attitude that things are hopeless and that they can’t handle situations, so that’s what happens.  They fall and crumble and wither with adversity.  Sometimes it helps to look at nature and see that even when things go wrong, it doesn’t have to be our downfall.

I have a rose bush that has to be very old.  My dad once used his chainsaw and cut it to the ground.  The very next spring, it grew back even more lovely from being pruned.  Now, however, the goats like to reach through the fence and nibble on its leaves every chance they can.  It seems no matter what I do to try and stop them from reaching, they find a way.  Despite it’s way too frequent prunings, the one tiny section with leaves still managed to bloom this summer.

Now, I see new growth starting at the base.  Despite constant abuse, this rose is determined to bloom.

In the pasture I see many examples of resiliency.  This tree really seems to show that ability to bounce back.  It’s trunk was bent and twisted and split, seemingly killing it.  However, it’s getting new growth, straight and tall.

I so wish I knew the secret of resiliency and how to bestow it upon others.  I’ve had sick goats before that every day I would come home knowing they would probably be dead.  Yet they would persevere and I continued treating and caring for them not knowing how they could possibly survive another day.  Yet they did, day after day until they completely recovered.

Then there’s Flash who seemed happy and healthy.  One evening, he didn’t feel like eating, so I was going to get wormer from the vets and treat him; however, before I could get it the next day he was dead.

It breaks my heart, and I wish I knew how better diagnose and help my goats.  What lets one goat be sick for a long time, giving me the opportunity to work and help and treat while another seems to wither overnight?  Sometimes I wonder how I’ll find the resiliency to pick myself up and keep loving these animals when I get my heart broken.

Alphabe-Thursday this week is the letter R.

53 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. TexWisGirl
    Aug 17, 2011 @ 17:02:37

    oh teresa. i’m so sorry. i hate that feeling of helplessness. and i know how much you love and care for your animals…

    Reply

  2. Sandy
    Aug 17, 2011 @ 17:25:14

    The goats are hard for sure. For us, the best decision we have made was to go with the wormer. Believe me being Miss organic health and such it was a very, very hard decision. But since we have had our goats on the Ivermectin, We have not lost a goat due to illness. I did have twins born dead to Ebony this year, why I don’t know. But other than that we have not lost a goat. For us here in our humid climate, if we are going to raise goats without a constant battle which we were having. I had to give in on the meds. We only worm them now once or twice a year! Yep that is all it takes once you have had them on it for about a year every 4 months, then you can start spreading it out. Or we have been able to I should say and it has been very effective… As long as we are not buying new goats from the outside and bringing them in. If so we would need to sepratate them from our herd for no less than 2 months treat them with the Ivermectin and then release them in the herd. We have not been bringing in new goats for a while now. We have been very pleased with how healthy everyone has been.. Knock on wood… :O).. Its all trial and error with these horned furry friends of ours! Your doing a great job! and sometimes girly like our twins, you just don’t know what happened.

    Reply

    • Teresa
      Aug 17, 2011 @ 18:11:39

      I use the herbal wormer weekly, which is great as long as they are healthy. If they are sick, run down, or anything else that would make it necessary, I do use the chemical wormer. The problem is the worms are resistant to ivermectin products too. Well, sometimes. With the kids I’ve lost, the vet and I discussed genetics as a possibility, but he’s not found out anything (or looked or gotten back to me or something), so when I contacted ISU, they just say it isn’t genetics. I’m just very frustrated.

      Reply

  3. Alica
    Aug 17, 2011 @ 17:55:24

    That’s a tough one, Teresa…if only we knew “why” for the things that go wrong, and for the things that go right! You’re doing a great job, and from what I’ve learned from your blog this past year, is that you’re pretty resilient! :)

    Reply

    • Teresa
      Aug 17, 2011 @ 18:13:11

      Thanks. I am glad you’ve found useful information. It’s a struggle to find information on goats, and then you find all kinds of contradictory information. I guess I’ll keep looking.

      Reply

  4. Sharon Qualls
    Aug 17, 2011 @ 18:10:48

    I don’t know why some people/animals/plants are more resilient than others. Maybe it’s in their genetic code. Poor Flash, he went so fast.
    Lovely rose, by the way.

    Reply

  5. jen
    Aug 17, 2011 @ 18:14:07

    I’ve wondered the same things sometimes…

    Reply

  6. EG Wow, Canada
    Aug 17, 2011 @ 18:17:21

    Why some survive and some don’t is a mystery. I’m wondering if Flash was actually sick for a long time before his good nature wore down and he just couldn’t hold on any longer. For sure, some people are like that (don’t complain) until it’d too late.

    Reply

  7. Ellen
    Aug 17, 2011 @ 19:30:18

    So many things we won’t understand on this earth. It is good to have resiliency and perseverance instead of despair and giving up. I think the key might be hope…

    Reply

  8. Nancy
    Aug 17, 2011 @ 20:19:00

    I’m so sorry about Flash, Teresa. It’s so hard to lose one of our animals, especially when we don’t see it coming. I always think of you as a strong, positive person. You have so much going on… but manage to keep it together. :)

    Reply

    • Teresa
      Aug 17, 2011 @ 20:38:01

      Thanks. I do try to be strong and stay focused on the positive. Some days though it’s just necessary to retreat. I’m sure tomorrow will be better.

      Reply

  9. Candy C.
    Aug 17, 2011 @ 20:47:41

    Big hugs Teresa! I like what Ellen said too!

    Reply

  10. JDaniel4's Mom
    Aug 17, 2011 @ 21:37:26

    I am sorry for this loss.

    Reply

  11. taylorsoutback
    Aug 17, 2011 @ 21:52:39

    A moving post Teresa…we go through this with our dogs too….one lost so suddenly and much too young and another leaving beyond the normal life span of the breed. We are blessed to have all the companions we do and how they enrich our own lives…we learn so much from them.

    Reply

    • Teresa
      Aug 17, 2011 @ 22:16:20

      Truly they are amazing teachers. I’ve sworn these girls vowed to teach me more about goats than any human should know. Really we are blessed for the animals in our lives, and I thank you for that reminder.

      Reply

  12. Andy
    Aug 17, 2011 @ 22:40:37

    Hello.
    You have asked the same questions we all ask at some point or other. Only God knows the answer.

    I’m sorry about Flash. You showered him with love & did your best. That should give you a measure of comfort.

    The rose is beautiful. Love the color.

    It’s hard not to feel despair, but don’t give up hope. Perseverance is key.

    Thanks for sharing & for the visit.
    My best wishes to you.

    My Reflection In The Mirror

    Reply

  13. Riet
    Aug 18, 2011 @ 02:26:38

    What a beautiful post.

    Reply

  14. Amanda
    Aug 18, 2011 @ 07:49:40

    I’m sorry for your loss :( It can be so frustrating when you want to keep everything perfect but there are unkwowns in your way. Unfortunately it’s another one of those instances where life is in the driver’s seat and you can only do so much.

    Reply

    • Teresa
      Aug 18, 2011 @ 09:08:04

      I love the way you phrase that~Life is in the driver’s seat! It’s so true. There are so many factors we don’t know about or have control over.

      Reply

  15. WolfSong
    Aug 18, 2011 @ 08:51:38

    I’m sorry about Flash. It’s heartbreaking to lose an animal so quickly, with no explanation.
    The rose is a beautiful representation of determination and hope. And it shows that it’s okay to retreat, regroup, and heal. We all need to do that, from time to time. Then, you pick yourself up, and carry on. And sometimes, you get a little support from those who read your blogs…and that’s okay too. :)

    Reply

  16. Satakieli
    Aug 18, 2011 @ 09:21:38

    Animals are difficult, because they can’t tell you that they’re sick and it’s all just guess work. Sounds like you’re doing a wonderful job with them. My parents kept chickens when I was growing up and I remember us being laughed at when we took one of them to see a vet… but despite the fact that they were farm animals we loved every one of them!

    Reply

    • Teresa
      Aug 18, 2011 @ 12:20:29

      Been there done that with the chickens! I actually took a duck (after arguing with the vet that I did want to spend money on her) that had to have her wing amputated after being mauled by a dog. She lived another four years as a one-winged duck! Truly, they are my family.

      Reply

  17. Window On The Prairie
    Aug 18, 2011 @ 10:38:11

    I’m sorry Teresa. Not having goats I don’t know what makes them tick, but for Flash to go that fast, it may have been something that probably couldn’t be treated anyway. We had a cow like that last spring. She’d had a calf and 3 days later was dead, with no warning. Since animals can’t tell us when they aren’t feeling well, it’s sometimes impossible to know that they are sick, let alone what they have, and what to do for it. Hang in there.

    Reply

    • Teresa
      Aug 18, 2011 @ 12:21:23

      Honestly, we were in about our third or so week of horrible heat that had all of the animals acting dumpy, so I might have missed something behaviorally that I ordinarily would have picked up on.

      Reply

  18. Talon
    Aug 18, 2011 @ 11:37:36

    I’m sorry for the loss of Flash, Teresa. It’s an interesting question you pose – why do some survive and thrive despite incredible odds, while others wilt and fade and can’t withstand the pressure.?I guess there are some mysteries that will never be solved satisfactorily…like how nature gives and nature takes away…the whys and hows buried inside and never revealed.

    Reply

  19. Sue Anderson
    Aug 18, 2011 @ 12:34:30

    Sad to lose an animal so unexpectedly, but what you say is true. Some people, animals, and things are just more resilient than others.

    We have a lemon tree in our back yard that should have died many times over from frost, but it keeps coming back.

    I like to think that I am resilient, too. At least, I want to be.

    =)

    Reply

  20. Ames
    Aug 18, 2011 @ 21:04:58

    I don’t have goats but everytime my little dog acts differently I am calling the vet. After losing one to seizures and now finding out another one has epilepsy we are heart broken and nervous too. It is a scary thing when an animal you care about gets sick.~Ames

    Reply

  21. Ames
    Aug 18, 2011 @ 21:07:27

    P.S. I almost forgot. When both my parents died I dug up a rose my dad bought for my mom. I transplanted it in the front flower bed and don’t really do much to it. But every June, the birth month of my mother, that rose blooms the prettiest pink rose. I call it Mom’s rose.~Ames

    Reply

  22. Barbara Rosenzweig
    Aug 19, 2011 @ 08:09:00

    I’m so sorry to hear this. Sometimes goats, like people, have stuff wrong that we just can’t do anything about.

    Your rose is stunning!! It’s determined to survive!

    Reply

    • Teresa
      Aug 19, 2011 @ 08:18:24

      I know. I just think I should be able to save them all. Thanks. I have no idea what heirloom rose it is, but it is very beautiful when it’s actually got leaves and blooms on the entire bush instead of just one little end of a branch. :-)

      Reply

  23. Judie
    Aug 19, 2011 @ 10:44:25

    This is a beautiful post. Poor Flash! I guess his time had come!

    Reply

  24. Loretta
    Aug 20, 2011 @ 18:42:21

    Wonderful and meaningful post.

    Reply

  25. Jenny Matlock
    Aug 22, 2011 @ 16:21:36

    I wish resiliency was something you could take in pill form. I know so many that could use a good dose of it.

    It’s so hard not to help someone when they don’t seem to have this.

    I really loved your thought provoking post this week.

    And, as always, I love your pictures.

    Thanks for linking.

    A+

    Reply

  26. Mimi Foxmorton
    Aug 23, 2011 @ 08:58:27

    Such a beauteous post, lovie………….
    You can go to sleep every night knowing you, of all people, have gone the mile for those around you…………
    xo

    Reply

  27. Teresa
    Aug 23, 2011 @ 09:59:02

    Thanks. That really does mean a lot.

    Reply

  28. Trackback: Some Tough Choices « Eden Hills's Blog

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

Blog Stats

  • 435,798 hits

For the Love of Blogging, Turn it Off

Copyright Notice

Entire Contents © Copyright 2010 - 2014 Eden Hills. Text and photographs may not be published, broadcast, redistributed, re-blogged or aggregated without express permission. Thank you.
Get your own free Blogoversary button!

Disclaimer

The information on this web site is supplied for general reference and educational purposes only. This information does not represent the management practices or thinking of other goat breeders or the veterinary community. I am not a veterinarian, and the information on this site is not intended to replace professional veterinary advice. This information is not intended to diagnose or treat any health problems or illnesses without consulting your veterinarian. I disclaim all liability in connection with the use of this information.
