What I Wish I Was Doing

I wish I were canning.  My garden has finally started producing (yes, now that I’m back at work teaching).  Still, the tomatoes are ripening v e r y  s l o w l y.  I’m struggling to get enough to do anything with them.

How I wish I could take those tomatoes and peppers and make spaghetti sauce.  I still need more though!

Throw in some chili peppers, and I could make some salsa!

As my tomatoes ripen and verge on too ripe, I chop them up and put them in the freezer.  Hopefully, I really will be able to can something this weekend.  At the very least, I can make some zucchini brownies or a broccoli zucchini pizza.

As a bonus, I think I might actually be able to make fresh pumpkin pie for Thanksgiving!

I’m still waiting to see if Christmas is going to grow and turn orange.

Linking to Wordless Wordful Wednesday at Project Alicia

32 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. TexWisGirl
    Aug 16, 2011 @ 19:42:13

    at least it’s all still coming. :)

    Reply

  2. Chai Chai
    Aug 16, 2011 @ 19:48:28

    Your veggies look fantastic, nothing is better than fresh grown tomatoes.

    Reply

  3. Janis
    Aug 16, 2011 @ 20:09:13

    Love fresh produce! Our tomatos are coming in nicely. I freeze mine whole. As I need them for cooking I just run them under hot water n the skin comes right off. I only got about 5 zucchini and we ate them as fast as they came in. Only had enough to do two zucchini pies! Your pumpkin looks great!

    Reply

    • Teresa
      Aug 16, 2011 @ 20:27:44

      I’ve never heard of zucchini pie~fascinating! I don’t have a lot of freezer space, so I tend to can things. So far it’s the only one I’m sure will be ready. There is another tiny one that I’m hoping will finish before the first freeze.

      Reply

  4. Sandy
    Aug 16, 2011 @ 20:29:39

    Nothing like when the produce starts to come off the vines!!

    Reply

  5. Sharon Qualls
    Aug 16, 2011 @ 20:30:22

    Nice that you are getting veggies – some people had horn worms (I won’t say who) and didn’t get the big harvest she expected. That pumpkin looks mighty pretty!

    Reply

    • Teresa
      Aug 16, 2011 @ 20:32:51

      I am lucky I have tomatoes and peppers. Most of my zucchini, squash, pumpkins, and gourds were wiped out. I thought it was the spray from the beans, but I found a stupid squash vine borer. Wish I could send you a couple of tomatoes. :-)

      Reply

  6. Tayet
    Aug 16, 2011 @ 20:33:52

    We have zucchini and cucumbers coming out our ears! We also have a few watermelons coming in. Good luck with your tomatoes!

    Tayet

    Reply

    • Teresa
      Aug 16, 2011 @ 20:52:45

      Lucky you! I usually supply my dad with his zucchini and tomatoes, and I haven’t done a very good job of that this year. Glad you are getting a good harvest.

      Reply

  7. Danni
    Aug 16, 2011 @ 21:02:24

    Oh, such beautiful vegetables! You aren’t alone with your tomato worries – I truly fear that very few of my ‘maters will ripen before fall hits. I’ve had no squash yet, just a few beets, and a minimal pea harvest.
    Your peppers look magnificent.

    Reply

  8. alicia
    Aug 16, 2011 @ 21:08:40

    How wonderful that you use your own vegetables and can them! Wish I could stop by for Thanksgiving. A pumpkin pie with your own pumpkin? How great.

    Reply

    • Teresa
      Aug 16, 2011 @ 21:15:14

      I don’t know the last time I haven’t used real home grown pumpkin to make my pie~also use my own eggs and goat’s milk. You really can’t beat growing your own food!

      Reply

  9. Buckeroomama
    Aug 16, 2011 @ 21:20:46

    How wonderful to have these in your garden! The only I’ve grown and used in my cooking is coriander (!).

    Reply

  10. CreationsbyDina
    Aug 16, 2011 @ 22:16:41

    We have the same problem with our tomatoes. We got them in late because of all the spring flooding so I don’t know if that has anything to do with it. I normally have 5 gallon buckets full by this time a year to can. We barely get enough to make a batch of salsa. I like salsa but I am ready to make some pizza and spaghetti sauce and other things!!

    Reply

    • Teresa
      Aug 16, 2011 @ 22:28:00

      Mine had a late start, but when we had horrible heat throughout July, they just sat there. Now we need rain. Overall, it’s just been a horrible gardening year. Hope you start getting a lot more!

      Reply

  11. Talon
    Aug 17, 2011 @ 00:13:44

    Our tomatoes are sad specimens this year. I hope you get enough to do some spaghetti sauce and some salsa :)

    Fresh pumpkin pie – delicious! Hard to imagine Thanksgiving, but it’s lurking out there, isn’t it?

    Reply

    • Teresa
      Aug 17, 2011 @ 06:29:47

      I’m afraid Thanksgiving will be here before we know it. Sorry your tomatoes aren’t doing as well as you’d like. I must say, I will be relieved when this garden season is finished.

      Reply

  12. jen
    Aug 17, 2011 @ 07:01:02

    Our tomatoes are coming in slow too… I’ve been just makin/canning small batches, gonna make some pasta sauce today & more applesauce. We have ate acouple of good batches of garden fresh salsa, love it.

    Reply

  13. Candy C.
    Aug 17, 2011 @ 07:18:15

    I made my first fresh pumpkin pie last year and you are right, nothing beats it! My tomatoes are just now starting to ripen too. Weird gardening year most everywhere!

    Reply

  14. Mildred
    Aug 17, 2011 @ 08:02:54

    Wow! Those are wonderful! Seem so good;o)
    Thanks for sharing your fabulous pics. And thanks for visiting my place and taking the time to comment;o)

    ¤ Happy week ¤

    Reply

  15. Window On The Prairie
    Aug 17, 2011 @ 13:22:34

    Our tomatoes and cukes have stopped ripening too since it cooled off and started raining. Oh well, can’t have it all, and we’re loving the cooler temps and moisture.

    Reply

    • Teresa
      Aug 17, 2011 @ 16:24:31

      I would love to have some rain! It’s really starting to get quite dry. It seems like this has just been the strangest weather year for everyone.

      Reply

  16. Amanda
    Aug 18, 2011 @ 07:45:56

    I have that same wish right now. There is so much that needs to be done at home but the work week still trudges on….

    Reply

    • Teresa
      Aug 18, 2011 @ 09:07:10

      I’m hoping to have enough to do some canning this weekend, but I guess we’ll see. I’m still cleaning out buildings, so I’m not sure what the priority will be.

      Reply

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

Blog Stats

  • 461,202 hits

For the Love of Blogging, Turn it Off

Copyright Notice

Entire Contents © Copyright 2010 - 2014 Eden Hills. Text and photographs may not be published, broadcast, redistributed, re-blogged or aggregated without express permission. Thank you.
Get your own free Blogoversary button!

Disclaimer

The information on this web site is supplied for general reference and educational purposes only. This information does not represent the management practices or thinking of other goat breeders or the veterinary community. I am not a veterinarian, and the information on this site is not intended to replace professional veterinary advice. This information is not intended to diagnose or treat any health problems or illnesses without consulting your veterinarian. I disclaim all liability in connection with the use of this information.
