Pumpkin Worries

I’m a bit concerned about my pick-your-own-pumpkin patch for this fall.  I already had to scale down from the whole front hill in the pasture being planted in pumpkins because of circumstances beyond my control.

Still, this spring I planted a whole bunch of pumpkin seeds.  Things got busy, but I finally got those plants in the ground.  I added a few more seeds directly in the pumpkin patch.  Despite my neglect of the gardens, they did grow.

We’ve had a very hot dry July.  The poor leaves are covered in dust.

The plants do have a lot of blooms.

I even found a couple of small pumpkins.

Overall, there are not many pumpkins there.  By this time in the summer, there should be a lot of round green pumpkins, but it’s just been too hot for them to actually produce fruit.  There are a lot of small blossoms coming on though, so hopefully they’ll still be able to produce some more pumpkins.

I guess I do have a backup plan for pumpkins if the patch I planted doesn’t do well.

This one grew in the barnyard from a seed that the goats and geese must have missed eating when I fed them the leftover pumpkins last fall.  Suppose it will actually produce a pumpkin and the goats won’t eat it before Halloween?

Be sure to visit Jenny Matlock for more P posts for Alphabe-Thursday.

Blog Stats

  • 399,802 hits

For the Love of Blogging, Turn it Off

Copyright Notice

Entire Contents © Copyright 2010 - 2014 Eden Hills. Text and photographs may not be published, broadcast, redistributed, re-blogged or aggregated without express permission. Thank you.
Get your own free Blogoversary button!

Disclaimer

The information on this web site is supplied for general reference and educational purposes only. This information does not represent the management practices or thinking of other goat breeders or the veterinary community. I am not a veterinarian, and the information on this site is not intended to replace professional veterinary advice. This information is not intended to diagnose or treat any health problems or illnesses without consulting your veterinarian. I disclaim all liability in connection with the use of this information.